Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
We loved this soup! It's very easy to make, especially when you throw it all into the crockpot. I cooked it on high for 2 hours then turned it down to low for another 6...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
My family really, really liked this soup. We prefer a heartier soup so I added more veggies, barley, and a couple potatoes. I was a little nervous when I first tasted the broth, about 30 min into the simmering. It was a tad bland. After reading a few reviews, I added a little garlic powder, onion powder and more salt (I used Low Sodium Beef Stock) and pepper and covered it back up and waited to taste it again after 1.5 hours. Perfect! All the flavors had had a chance to develop and it was delicious. This will be on the menu this fall and winter. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was excellent and I had to alter the recipe because I did not have any barley, always have barley in the cupboard so I did not check...anyways I used a cup of brown rice in the last hour of cooking...it was great and had just a bit of bite to it. Come to find out my husband added a small pinch of crushed red pepper before I added the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've made it excatly like the recipe and altered. It was very good as is but I think the changes I made make it even better. Boil the beef broth. In a seperate bowl add lean ground meat, 1 egg, 1/4 cup bread crumbs, a pinch of parsley, pepper, thyme. Make mini meatballs (bitesize). Add meatballs to boiling broth. When they float they are done. Add remaining ingredients and ADD 1 CAN TOMATO SAUCE. Simmer for 2 hours. The original recipe lacked presentation. It was something I would make for myself as a comfort food. With the changes I made I would definatly serve to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is a great recipe. I like my vegetables a little chunky so I chopped the onions and carrots instead of minced. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. It is a nice thick and tasty soup. It also freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Oh so yummy! My Mexican husband raved! Instead of the can of diced tomatoes I used Ro-Tel diced tomatoes with cilantro and lime juice. I also used all broth, no plain water. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Yanez-Solis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Very good and comforting! I only used 1 pound of hamburger and sauteed the onion and garlic while it cooked. We prefer a chunkier soup so I cut the carrots & celery into bigger pieces instead of mincing them. I also bumped the barely up to 1 full cup. Definitely let the soup simmer for the full amount of time. The flavors really come together then. It does make a thicker soup, but we actually liked it better that way. This is great for cold winter nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this soup for Friday night dinner and it was excellent. I didn't change the ingredients at all. The only thing I did differently was after browning the ground beef I took it out of the pot and poured out any grease. Then added a little bit of olive oil and sauted the carrots, onion, celery and garlic for about 5 minutes to soften. Then added back in the ground beef and the rest of the ingredients. I love making soups in the fall/winter and this one is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is a great soup for a chilly evening or anytime that winter is getting you down. Other reviewers are right on with their comments about being able to add additional barley, other vegetables (sliced mushrooms for instance) and I used additional fresh garlic cloves (minced) and these just added to the great flavor. This recipe is certainly one to keep and keep coming back to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDENHAM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This recipe for hamburger soup was awesome. I did make a few alterations to it. I love spices so I added rosemary, more bay leaves, and when I fry my hamburger up I always add celery seed and a dash of nutmeg. I also love barley so I increased the barley. I will totally make this recipe again and will recommend it to my friends too. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieangelfire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States