Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was excellent and I had to alter the recipe because I did not have any barley, always have barley in the cupboard so I did not check...anyways I used a cup of brown rice in the last hour of cooking...it was great and had just a bit of bite to it. Come to find out my husband added a small pinch of crushed red pepper before I added the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Great soup but I am not keen on bay leaf so I only put in half of one and took it out early. Also I thinned it down with either V8 or tomato soup. Have made it several times and froze what was left for later. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Foley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This is a really good recipe! It makes alot of very hearty and thick soup! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Oh my goodness this recipe brings back memories. When our girls were at home it was one of our standbys and we all loved it. Did not use the barley, but that was a taste preference. Can be added to - very adaptable. Great to see it in print and I might even make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is a great recipe. I like my vegetables a little chunky so I chopped the onions and carrots instead of minced. Other than that I followed the directions exactly. It is a nice thick and tasty soup. It also freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Belly filling and a great cold weather dinner! When following this recipe, it does yield a lot but I seldom have leftovers. I serve it with honey cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This was delicious! It turned out more like a stew, probably because I added a can of green beans and corn. I omitted barley but added small pasta noodles. A lot of leftovers but it will be eaten this week for lunch. I'll definitely make again especially on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Daytona, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was wonderful!! My daughter and I added extra barley, meat and used Italian diced tomatoes. I froze the left over (4 days worth)soup but my daughter kept asking for it day after day. Guess I shouldn't have freezed it in the first place:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karene Busby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is one of those recipes that bring memories of your mom's cooking. Easy prep, accurate timing, and delicious outcome. Easy to exchange ingredients, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countryboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
We loved this soup! It's very easy to make, especially when you throw it all into the crockpot. I cooked it on high for 2 hours then turned it down to low for another 6...thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States