Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
overall a really good soup with added flavoring indeed it needed some garlic powder and onion powder and extra minced garlic some pepper i didn't use thyme instead i did a bay leaf and basil it was yummy and i upped the tomato soup to 2 cans and used fresh roma tomatoes cut up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Marie Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This soup is pretty good. Major benefit is that it is VERY filling with the beef and the barley. When I ate it for lunch (sans anything else), it would keep me full way past dinnertime. I used a small can of tomato paste rater than the condensed tomato soup, which has too many artificial ingredients for my taste. Also, I used 1 lb of ground beef and that was a good ratio against the 1/2 cup barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
very yummy soup..... :) A MUST TRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Good. Needs a bit more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I was looking for a tasteful, not too citric (v8), beef barley veggie soup. I have tried several recipes and this one is at the top of the list. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I thought this hamburger soup was very good. Simple to throw together for an easy dinner with salad and bread. I put this in the crock pot on high for about 5 hrs. I added some cumin, red pepper flakes and 4 beef boulion cubes because like some other reviewers said it was a bit bland. I also added more barley than the recipe called for so I added a little more beef stock. During the last couple hours of cooking I decided to throw in some frozen corn. Adding some extra spices gives it a nice flavor and the extra barley makes it a thick stew-soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I have made this soup three times in the last month now; I am addicted to it! I have made a couple of changes to it, however. I also add 1 lb. of mild sausage (like Bob Evans), I use rice instead of barley (because that's what I have), increase the water a little and add two cans of tomato soup. My family loves this meal; I can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
meh. definitely bland. not exciting at all. ill just stick with vegetable beef stew in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Didn't have barley so added half cup of rice. Pretty tasty on crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This soup was more like a chilli and very bland but for the ingredients it was good. I ended up adding basil, more barley like other reviews suggested and instead of tomatoe soup I used tomatoe paste. My 2 year old daughter loves it so in my eyes it was a success. I gave this a 3 star just because it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States