Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't wonderful either. It seemed like the besics were good, but the taste needed something. Also, the 1/2 C barley wasn't nearly enough. 1 heaping cup would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Making this for the second time as it was a huge hit with my family the first time. I believe I was short on barley the first time so I added in some quinoa about 30 minutes before it was done. I agree with others that it is a very versatile soup. I would think you can add or sub just about any veggie and adjust spices to your liking. I have a house full of picky eaters and the fact that EVERYONE loved it....it's saying a lot. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
wow, easy and super good. even my hubby liked it and he normally hates soups because they don't fill him up. i added a couple diced potatoes and replaced the tomato soup w/ a small can of tomato paste b/c that's all i had. next time i might add in some other random veggies, too. yum! glad there are leftovers for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2aMunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used all ingredients exactly as written and only changed the cooking method to slow cooker. Excellent, hearty soup, but could use a bit of zip -- next time I'll add a bit of chopped jalapeno and maybe just a tad of salt. I might also try adding a can of drained black beans. As for cooking, brown your hamburger with the onion and garlic before putting in your slow cooker, then add all the other ingredients. Cook on high for 2 hours and then low for 6 more hours. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
What a terrific recipe!! Absolutely delicious, very satisfying, and a wonderful blend of simple spices. And so easy to throw together!! The only thing I did differently was to chop the vegetables instead of mincing. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Really cold here today so I was looking for a soup to make for dinner and wanted to use hamburger. This one fit the bill! I only had 1 lb of hamburger, the bottom of a box of barley which probably was only about 1/4 cup, used no water, one quart jar of home canned tomatoes, 1 can of beef broth (10 oz) and added a bit of Montreal steak seasoning. This is warm, hearty and filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good!! I didn't have thyme so I used basil instead. I also added some minced garlic in with the veggies. This will become a regular in our dinner rotation! It was thick, hearty, filling and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great Soup, thanks for the recipe. Only changes I made was to add a little red wine to the soup and some frozen corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDM1995

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This was delicious! Made it as written. My husband, who is not a fan of anything with ground beef (unless it is in the form of a burger :) loved it. The kids gobbled it up, too. This may seem obvious to some, but I'll say it since I'm not an expert and hope it helps others: taste your soup!!! Some broths and canned tomatoes have more salt than others, and depending on which brand I have found that I either needed to add some salt or add none at all. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I really did enjoy this soup. I did add cabbage and a potato. I will skip the tomatoes next time, though, in favor of some tomato juice. The changes were based solely because I wanted them (I had cabbage and potatoes on hand), not because this recipe needed any help. It was a nice thick and hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ordway, Colorado, USA
Living In: Emporia, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States