Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very good! This can be adjusted a number of different ways. Only used 1 lb hamburger, low sodium beef broth, added more water and eliminated the tomato soup. Added a few potatoes and some sliced mushroom and frozen corn (needed to be used up). Used quick cook barley, so this was done in under 2 hours. There is some chopping involved, but the time is well worth it! Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
made in crockpot as other reviewer mentioned and this was delish! even my picky 15 month old liked it (pureed). will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This soup is soooo good!!!! I made it per recipe and my family loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Pretty good. Very easy. Had to make some changes (ingredients on hand). I used 3 carrots, 2 cloves garlic, 1 cup pearl barley, 8 cups beef stock (no water, soup, canned stock), 2 bay leaves and salt. Needed salt. Otherwise pretty great start. Also added 3/4 cup frozen peas about an hour or so in. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I used italian sausage in this recipe making the soup taste phenomenal! I will be making this more often with the meat change. We left everything else the same. Cooked and drained onion, garlic, and italian sausage then threw in the crockpot on high for 2 hrs, low for about 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very good and easy. Threw everything in the crock pot and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't wonderful either. It seemed like the besics were good, but the taste needed something. Also, the 1/2 C barley wasn't nearly enough. 1 heaping cup would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Making this for the second time as it was a huge hit with my family the first time. I believe I was short on barley the first time so I added in some quinoa about 30 minutes before it was done. I agree with others that it is a very versatile soup. I would think you can add or sub just about any veggie and adjust spices to your liking. I have a house full of picky eaters and the fact that EVERYONE loved it....it's saying a lot. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
wow, easy and super good. even my hubby liked it and he normally hates soups because they don't fill him up. i added a couple diced potatoes and replaced the tomato soup w/ a small can of tomato paste b/c that's all i had. next time i might add in some other random veggies, too. yum! glad there are leftovers for tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2aMunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used all ingredients exactly as written and only changed the cooking method to slow cooker. Excellent, hearty soup, but could use a bit of zip -- next time I'll add a bit of chopped jalapeno and maybe just a tad of salt. I might also try adding a can of drained black beans. As for cooking, brown your hamburger with the onion and garlic before putting in your slow cooker, then add all the other ingredients. Cook on high for 2 hours and then low for 6 more hours. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States