Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Great - added fresh corn. Will use all broth, more barley and not quite as much Thyme next time. Perhaps some potatoes or kidney beans. It is very versatile and you can adjust it as you please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momothree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
One of my favorite soups! I made it for my husband when we were dating and he couldn't believe his taste buds. Generally I use beer in place of water (a dark beer like Fat Tire; it's never the same one) and Italian diced tomatoes. I use onion powder because I don't like soft onions and always add some chili powder. I've added potatoes before (turns out great!) and generally increase the barley as well. I also increase the veggies and dice instead of mince.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
We love any type of barley soup, only simmered for 1 1/2 hours and during last 30 minutes added some fresh chopped swiss chard from the garden, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Great recipe, kids and husband loved it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! Even my son who is not a soup lover had seconds. I used 2 lbs. of ground beef, a large sweet onion, doubled the carrots and celery, used homemade beef stock (Yum!), fresh garlic and omitted the tomato soup. I also added a heaping 1/2 cup of barley. Loved the addition of the barley. I will make this often. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious just the way it is! I also sometimes substitute rice for barley when I don't have barley and it is still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbylenga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
this soup was really really good! My husband was feeling really sick, and this soup made him feel so much better! I used rice instead of the barley, and didn't add in the celery, but followed the rest of the recipe and it was great! Definitely a keeper, it was so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Devon, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I had this soup at my sister-in-law's last week & it was so good I asked her for the recipe. It is the same as this one except it calls for 3 cans of consomme instead of the beef broth. I also like my vegetables chunky so I diced them instead of minced. I made this yesterday in my crock pot. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A good base for making a great soup. I doubled the barley as I like it and wanted a bit thicker 'stew'. This could be modified in so many ways and still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
this was really good my hole family like it....i did change it alittle bit 3 cans beef broth 2 cans tomatoe soup,2cans of tomatoes.and i use frozen soup vegetables.and about 1/2 -1 cup of multigrain noodles....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States