Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Great recipe, kids and husband loved it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! Even my son who is not a soup lover had seconds. I used 2 lbs. of ground beef, a large sweet onion, doubled the carrots and celery, used homemade beef stock (Yum!), fresh garlic and omitted the tomato soup. I also added a heaping 1/2 cup of barley. Loved the addition of the barley. I will make this often. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious just the way it is! I also sometimes substitute rice for barley when I don't have barley and it is still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbylenga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
this soup was really really good! My husband was feeling really sick, and this soup made him feel so much better! I used rice instead of the barley, and didn't add in the celery, but followed the rest of the recipe and it was great! Definitely a keeper, it was so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Devon, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I had this soup at my sister-in-law's last week & it was so good I asked her for the recipe. It is the same as this one except it calls for 3 cans of consomme instead of the beef broth. I also like my vegetables chunky so I diced them instead of minced. I made this yesterday in my crock pot. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A good base for making a great soup. I doubled the barley as I like it and wanted a bit thicker 'stew'. This could be modified in so many ways and still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
this was really good my hole family like it....i did change it alittle bit 3 cans beef broth 2 cans tomatoe soup,2cans of tomatoes.and i use frozen soup vegetables.and about 1/2 -1 cup of multigrain noodles....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Used a little barley than called for but otherwise followed exactly. Very good but could have used a bit more seasoning, little bland, will make again with some additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Haven, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Delicious! Reminded me of my mom's beef and veggie soup. I did not add barley because I didn't have any, but other than that I followed the recipe, and it was yummy. My hubby liked it too. Great for cold winter days. You could really add an veggies that you like to it I believe. We had corn muffins with it. I think next time I'll try it with stew beef. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Fink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Holy cow! I'll be making this a lot!!! I did use a little more barley. Since I'm trying to cut back on sodium, I eliminated all the salt (used lower sodium beef stock & tomatoes), but added some smoked chipotle sauce for flavor. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdantzler65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States