Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Delicious! Reminded me of my mom's beef and veggie soup. I did not add barley because I didn't have any, but other than that I followed the recipe, and it was yummy. My hubby liked it too. Great for cold winter days. You could really add an veggies that you like to it I believe. We had corn muffins with it. I think next time I'll try it with stew beef. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Fink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Holy cow! I'll be making this a lot!!! I did use a little more barley. Since I'm trying to cut back on sodium, I eliminated all the salt (used lower sodium beef stock & tomatoes), but added some smoked chipotle sauce for flavor. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdantzler65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
We really liked this - I used spicy turkey sausage instead of hamburger because that is all I had in the freezer. Also increased the barley because we love it. Very filling and perfect for a cold winter night. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I love this soup! It's healthy and so tasty! I add another 1/2 cup of barley and use 1lb of ground turkey in place of the beef! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This soup was just not as good as I was expecting. I think the recipe is missing salt and some depth of flavor. To try to improve the recipe, I seasoned my meat with both salt and pepper while browning it, and I also used all broth. Didn't do the trick. I won't be making it again, sorry to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
The whole family really likes this one. The kids liked it better when I left out the tomato soup. I add green beans, italian seasoning, and sometimes throw in a couple of handfuls of spinach the last few minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tareesa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was easy to make and it was hearty, but in the end "just OK". Guests felt it tasted like chili without the chili powder and I did find it somewhat bland. I followed the recipe as is the first time, so will maybe try again adding more liquid and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
LOVE LOVE LOVE this soup! It was SO easy to make, the prep was fast and clean up a sinch!!! It does need to simmer for 2 hours so it's not really a "QUICK MEAL" but it is a great meal for a snowy winter afternoon to make for the evening. The other thing I LOVE about this recepie was that I made some for my sister and her twin 12 mos. olds were able to eat it when it was cool enough because all the veggies are shredded, the barley is soft and the meat is VERY chopped. Make it!!! You'll love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gfldjessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
AMAZING and EASY!!! The only changes I made is I use a can of diced tomatoes w/green chiles, and increase the barley to 1cup. My boyfriend and daughter love it. So filling and perfect for these cold nights:) Thanks Sharilee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
very versatle food, you can make many different substitutions or add just about anything you want and it is still tasty. This is a hard dish to screw up. I used to make something similar after riding snowmachines all day and it is hearty food, serve with some type of bread and you have a meal. For a little extra flavor I like to add dash of worcestershire sauce and / or A1 sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States