Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was DELICIOUS! Even my son who is not a soup lover had seconds. I used 2 lbs. of ground beef, a large sweet onion, doubled the carrots and celery, used homemade beef stock (Yum!), fresh garlic and omitted the tomato soup. I also added a heaping 1/2 cup of barley. Loved the addition of the barley. I will make this often. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Delicious just the way it is! I also sometimes substitute rice for barley when I don't have barley and it is still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbylenga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
this soup was really really good! My husband was feeling really sick, and this soup made him feel so much better! I used rice instead of the barley, and didn't add in the celery, but followed the rest of the recipe and it was great! Definitely a keeper, it was so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Devon, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I had this soup at my sister-in-law's last week & it was so good I asked her for the recipe. It is the same as this one except it calls for 3 cans of consomme instead of the beef broth. I also like my vegetables chunky so I diced them instead of minced. I made this yesterday in my crock pot. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A good base for making a great soup. I doubled the barley as I like it and wanted a bit thicker 'stew'. This could be modified in so many ways and still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
this was really good my hole family like it....i did change it alittle bit 3 cans beef broth 2 cans tomatoe soup,2cans of tomatoes.and i use frozen soup vegetables.and about 1/2 -1 cup of multigrain noodles....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Used a little barley than called for but otherwise followed exactly. Very good but could have used a bit more seasoning, little bland, will make again with some additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: South Haven, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Delicious! Reminded me of my mom's beef and veggie soup. I did not add barley because I didn't have any, but other than that I followed the recipe, and it was yummy. My hubby liked it too. Great for cold winter days. You could really add an veggies that you like to it I believe. We had corn muffins with it. I think next time I'll try it with stew beef. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Holy cow! I'll be making this a lot!!! I did use a little more barley. Since I'm trying to cut back on sodium, I eliminated all the salt (used lower sodium beef stock & tomatoes), but added some smoked chipotle sauce for flavor. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdantzler65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
We really liked this - I used spicy turkey sausage instead of hamburger because that is all I had in the freezer. Also increased the barley because we love it. Very filling and perfect for a cold winter night. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States