Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This makes a LOT. I made it in the crock pot and needed my six quart one. I chunked the veggies instead of mincing them. It simmered all day and made the kitchen smell great. I didn't change any of the ingredients except for a little more ground beef. The family LOVED it. I do wish I had added a bit more barley because I really like it. - Oh - and I used the lower sodium beef broth. I figure it's always easier to add salt later than to take it out if it's too much for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Very bland, blah soup. Made exactly as written. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Made this on a cold fall day and the familiy raved about it. The only this I did different was to add two potatoes and as others have said went half again as much barley. Wonderful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made this soup for Friday night dinner and it was excellent. I didn't change the ingredients at all. The only thing I did differently was after browning the ground beef I took it out of the pot and poured out any grease. Then added a little bit of olive oil and sauted the carrots, onion, celery and garlic for about 5 minutes to soften. Then added back in the ground beef and the rest of the ingredients. I love making soups in the fall/winter and this one is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was OK- I thought it was bland and a bit boring. However, my MIL asked for the recipe- so a few really thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I made this last night for dinner, we really enjoyed this soup. I didn't have barley so I used half a cup of instant rice. I will make again using the barley, but the recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I added some corn This soup was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and it was a HUGE hit. The only thing I did different, is I put it in the crockpot to cook all day. Great yummy soup. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Made the soup as directed except for sub. lentils for the barley (wheat allergy), added tabasco at the tables~yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Easy, yummy and healthy! What more could you ask for? I made exactly as stated only chopped my veggies a little bigger. Next time will try adding more barley. Ate with buttered crusty bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States