Hearty Hamburger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is my "go to" recipe when I want homemade soup. I've made this as written and also with my own variations with what I had on hand and it's always good. My favorite variation is to add a diced green pepper, rice and an extra can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MADDIEJON
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe! Made for the most part as written. Added extra barley and more beef broth instead of water. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Excellent soup. I also browned the onion and added worshisire sauce and tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This hit the spot on a cold downpour night! I added a some mushrooms and a little siracha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmarie47

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very simple but comforting meal. I didn't have barley, so did without. I added extra seasonings for flavor as recommended by other reviews. Before serving, I added steamed brown rice into each bowl. Tasted better the next day. Next time I will make corn bread to include with our meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
excellent soup better with cheese on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Nothing needs to be changed for this glorious soup! I did add about half of a cubed up rootabaga and that was a nice touch. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Outstanding; I used ground elk instead of beef, beef broth instead of water and home canned tomatoes. This will be a regular in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty closely with only a few minor changes. I used just 1 lb. of ground beef, a full cup of barley and instead of water and beef broth, I used three 14.5 oz. cans of beef broth. This produced a very chunky, hearty soup, just as the title suggests. For me this yielded about 13 cups of soup. But even after letting the flavors meld in the fridge until the next day, it didn’t wow me. Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this tonight and followed the recipe just as it is! My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States