Hearty Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made this last night for a couple of picky people and they loved it!! I am so glad I found this, I will make it again. The only changes I made are, I added half a red bell pepper to onion mixture and half a can of green chilies, which make everything better. I also added some of the cheese to the bechamel mixture so it would make a more smooth consistency and added the rest to the top a few minutes before it was done. The only suggestion one person said would make it better was to add bacon to the top. Sounds good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I had to substitute cheddar cheese for processed because we didn't have any. I think the casserole didn't come out as pretty but it sure tasted good. I thought it was okay but my husband and kids came back for seconds and thirds. My 6 year old raved it about the next day too. So 5 stars for sure and a great use of leftover ham from Easter or any other dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
This casserole was delicious. I forgot to cover it and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Good recipe. I use cheddar instead of American. And to save myself time, I use o'brien hashbrowns. Great way to use leftover ham from the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Easy, fast, and very tasty. Still, it just wasn't a big hit with my family. I will probably try it again with broccoli instead of corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Really delicious! It was easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suszee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
OMG!! So good I would recommend adding French fried onions to the top and it is delisousous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I cook meals for another family twice a week. 3 children (2 in their teens and another around 12), Mom and Dad. I made this for them and they all loved it; they requested that I make this casserole again. It's quite simple, as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Made this last night for my family very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I could tell just by reading the recipe that it would not be savory enough for our tastes. I used it as a basis, made some additions, and it turned out wonderfully! First, I took the advice of some of the other posters and only boiled the potatoes for a few minutes. Next, to the butter I added a half of a chopped yellow onion. When it was time to add the flour and make the roux, I added 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika, 1 teaspoon of dried mustard, and some celery seed. I only added 1 cup of milk as a mixed the roux into a cream sauce, but threw in several different types of shredded cheese that we had in the house (1/4c. Parmesan, 1/4c. smoked Gouda, and about a cup of mild cheddar). I made the rest of the recipe according to plan, omitting the "cheese product" and opting for fresh shredded cheese, and it was amazing! The smoked paprika really complimented the rich cheeses and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States