Hearty Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I changed it up a bit with what I had on hand. I used Cumberland Gap Ham Chunks that were BOGO this week at Publix. Also, used Simply Potato Hash browns with onions that were also BOGO. Added some leftover corn from last night and a little bit of Crystal hot sauce to the potato/ham mixture. Before I poured the sauce on, I cut up small pieces of Velveeta and placed on top of the potato/ham mixture. I baked for about 45 min and then sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese on top and bake for about 8-10 min longer. It was yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Delicious! I added shredded cheddar cheese to the cream sauce, and that put it over the top. Everyone had second helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I first cooked this recipe to use leftover ham after Easter. My whole family loved it and said they would like to have this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Delicious! Didn't have parsley so I added a little garlic powder with parsley. Used shredded cheddar for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Made this recipe for dinner the other night! Loved it! I did double the ham & potatoes because it just didn't seem like much, ended up filling the intire pan to the top with just enough space for cheese! I used mozzarella & mild cheddar for the cheese because that's what I had on hand! I was actually pleasantly surprised that my hubby liked it as much as he did! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
We loved the flavor of this dish. I sauteed two sliced celery ribs (substituted for parsley) and 1/4 cup onion in the butter, then added the flour, but mistakenly used 2 cups milk. I also used shredded cheddar because that is what I had. The end result was a bit runny (my error with the milk), but the flavor was very good, and the husband said to keep this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I really didn't like this too much. I must admit that what I turned out definitely looked different than the photos. I think the potatoes I used were the wrong type (Russet, which is what I had) and on top of that they got overcooked. I got a gluey, starchy, gravy-like consistency. The corn literally saved the meal, adding a bit of crunch. I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Excellent!! Everyone in the house loved it the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
We all loved this recipe. I added some garlic with my onions. I used cheddar cheese instead of processed cheese. And I topped it with French fried onions and baked uncovered for the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I made this recipe tonight, and it was a hit. My picky eater even cleaned her plate. I did make a few changes: first I had to double the recipe for 4 adults and one child, with the exception of the parsley (1/4 C was sufficient for my taste). I made is with equal parts smoked sausage and ham steak cubed, I used red skinned potatoes and left the skins on, added 1/4t garlic powder, sauteed the parsley in the butter with the onion (thank you fellow user for the suggestion :)), and I used a full 4 cups of shredded cheddar and jack cheese, as well as I only had frozen corn so I used 2 cups. Because I doubled the recipe I had to add 15 minutes to the baking time. Overall though we found it hearty, and delicious - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States