Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I'm sure this still would have been a 5 star without the changes I made, but I did make some revisions to fit our tastes and to decrease fat/calories even more, as this is already a fairly light chowder. I used cod (about a 1/3 of the price) and the flavor was still great. I also used a couple extra pototoes and pureed them after they got a bit soft to help create a thicker consistency. I replaced the tomatoes with a can of corn, used 1 cup of skim milk, and about 1/2 of a 14 oz can of reduced fat evaporated milk. In addition to the fish, I added a can of minced clams, reserving the clam juice. I mixed the clam juice with about 3-4 Tbsp of cornstarch and that really thickened the chowder nicely. I shook in a good amount of salt and pepper and also added a little Old Bay and cayenne. With the richness of this chowder the way I prepared it, it's hard to believe there is only about 3-4 grams of fat per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used cod rather thn halibut (availabilty dictated this), and evaporated milk rather than milk and cream, a lower fat subsitute I often use in chowders that does not sacrifice smoothness. Turned the heat up with a bit of extra crushed pepper in consideration of some family members. Used red skin potatoes unpeeled and fresh parsley so the colors were lovely. Yummy! I can see this being a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious! My dad made this a long time ago and he shredded the carrots, so I was quite pleased that I found this recipe on allrecipes. I didn't have the heavy cream on hand, but I thickened the soup with corn starch and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Fantastic. Everyone in the family liked it and asked for it to be cooked again. I used left over halibut from a party that we had the night before. I added it to the completed soup at the end. I also used up the leftover potatoes from the night before. I added the potatoes with the garlic but only cooked it for two minutes instead of ten. I didn’t shred the carrots. I threw some baby carrots in a food processor and pulsed them until they were chopped up. I think this is a pretty “healthy” chowder. Most of the base is chicken broth, and there is only ½ cup cream and one tablespoon butter. Not bad, and it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I did not add the pepper flakes because I have small kids who can't handle spicy stuff. This was a great way to use up the halibut my husband caught in Alaska last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
We live in Northern BC and have been catching halibut for years. We were looking for a new way to cook halibut. This recipe was awesome. Everyone in the family loved it, including the 8 year old picky eater that doesnt eat anything new. Served it with warm buttered sourdough bread. Perfect recipe dont change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUGWUMP6970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
My sons fresh catch of the day was rock fish, red snapper and sea bass.So threw it all in the pot. I replaced milk with heavy cream. Also added 1 cup of corn. Yes a little extra butter and cheese. Then last but not least some hot sauce. It was fantastic. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4 hungry sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was my first attempt at fish chowder and it turned out great! I did not modify the ingredient list at all although I did use only half the amount of fish and only 1 litre of broth (because I only had a pound of fish and a litre of broth!). It is a very good recipe and I think I may change a few things next time like add some celery or maybe corn or different fish or...... but it is just great how it is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was an awesome chowder! i used Tilapia (cheaper) instead and it was sooo good. My whole family raved! I thought it needed a lil more flavor so I added some parsley and more salt and it was de-lish. It was actually better the next day cuz all the flavors had gotten richer over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
The red pepper flakes really add a extra kick! My husband made this for dinner tonight and it was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States