Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I'm sure this still would have been a 5 star without the changes I made, but I did make some revisions to fit our tastes and to decrease fat/calories even more, as this is already a fairly light chowder. I used cod (about a 1/3 of the price) and the flavor was still great. I also used a couple extra pototoes and pureed them after they got a bit soft to help create a thicker consistency. I replaced the tomatoes with a can of corn, used 1 cup of skim milk, and about 1/2 of a 14 oz can of reduced fat evaporated milk. In addition to the fish, I added a can of minced clams, reserving the clam juice. I mixed the clam juice with about 3-4 Tbsp of cornstarch and that really thickened the chowder nicely. I shook in a good amount of salt and pepper and also added a little Old Bay and cayenne. With the richness of this chowder the way I prepared it, it's hard to believe there is only about 3-4 grams of fat per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I used cod rather thn halibut (availabilty dictated this), and evaporated milk rather than milk and cream, a lower fat subsitute I often use in chowders that does not sacrifice smoothness. Turned the heat up with a bit of extra crushed pepper in consideration of some family members. Used red skin potatoes unpeeled and fresh parsley so the colors were lovely. Yummy! I can see this being a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious! My dad made this a long time ago and he shredded the carrots, so I was quite pleased that I found this recipe on allrecipes. I didn't have the heavy cream on hand, but I thickened the soup with corn starch and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Fantastic. Everyone in the family liked it and asked for it to be cooked again. I used left over halibut from a party that we had the night before. I added it to the completed soup at the end. I also used up the leftover potatoes from the night before. I added the potatoes with the garlic but only cooked it for two minutes instead of ten. I didn’t shred the carrots. I threw some baby carrots in a food processor and pulsed them until they were chopped up. I think this is a pretty “healthy” chowder. Most of the base is chicken broth, and there is only ½ cup cream and one tablespoon butter. Not bad, and it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I did not add the pepper flakes because I have small kids who can't handle spicy stuff. This was a great way to use up the halibut my husband caught in Alaska last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
We live in Northern BC and have been catching halibut for years. We were looking for a new way to cook halibut. This recipe was awesome. Everyone in the family loved it, including the 8 year old picky eater that doesnt eat anything new. Served it with warm buttered sourdough bread. Perfect recipe dont change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUGWUMP6970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
My sons fresh catch of the day was rock fish, red snapper and sea bass.So threw it all in the pot. I replaced milk with heavy cream. Also added 1 cup of corn. Yes a little extra butter and cheese. Then last but not least some hot sauce. It was fantastic. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4 hungry sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was my first attempt at fish chowder and it turned out great! I did not modify the ingredient list at all although I did use only half the amount of fish and only 1 litre of broth (because I only had a pound of fish and a litre of broth!). It is a very good recipe and I think I may change a few things next time like add some celery or maybe corn or different fish or...... but it is just great how it is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was an awesome chowder! i used Tilapia (cheaper) instead and it was sooo good. My whole family raved! I thought it needed a lil more flavor so I added some parsley and more salt and it was de-lish. It was actually better the next day cuz all the flavors had gotten richer over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
The red pepper flakes really add a extra kick! My husband made this for dinner tonight and it was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States