Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I did not add the pepper flakes because I have small kids who can't handle spicy stuff. This was a great way to use up the halibut my husband caught in Alaska last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Awesome. So very good. Replaced all liquid with heavy cream. Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious! My dad made this a long time ago and he shredded the carrots, so I was quite pleased that I found this recipe on allrecipes. I didn't have the heavy cream on hand, but I thickened the soup with corn starch and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe, other than using tilapia instead of halibut (much cheaper!). It is a great chowder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very good recipe. I go to Alaska every year and bring home fresh halibut; this was a good alternative to the other cooking methods I know. Rather than adding the cheese before serving, I allowed each person to add their desired amount of shredded cheese and red pepper flakes. I also added lime tortilla chips on top which went very well. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was an awesome chowder! i used Tilapia (cheaper) instead and it was sooo good. My whole family raved! I thought it needed a lil more flavor so I added some parsley and more salt and it was de-lish. It was actually better the next day cuz all the flavors had gotten richer over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Wonderful recipe. Company worthy. I substituted milk for cream and added a few teaspoons for corn starch to thicken it. I also did not use pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faina Shpiler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Good Recipe; the addition of cream is a good twist. Warmed up the umteenth time, the chowder gets better and better. I can't leave well enough alone, so, after trying the recipe as printed, my next batch, as with many halibut soup or chowder recipes, I induce a few more ingredients, i.e. I've added 4 cups of sliced mushrooms several minutes after adding the potatoes. And to thicken the chowder a bit, I add corn starch as metioned in other reviews. You can't hardly hurt this recipe. My next batch of chowder, I'll also add some chopped celery; this always goes good with halibut soups and chowders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was great! Next time I will add a little more red pepper since my husband likes his food spicy. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This soup is really good, but lacks a bit of punch. I will try the suggestion to add the seafood seasoning next time. I pureed the soup before adding the milk/cream/fish and also added corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States