Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great Halibut application. I thought I had stewed tomatoes on hand, but didn't so I left them out. I also added a bay leaf and thyme (but next time I would only use fresh thyme, so I could remove it) with the chicken stock. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was an awesome recipe! I did make a few changes which made it from good to the best soup I have ever had... I used all fat free cream and milk and a little more then the recipe called for, I used fat free Half and Half instead of cream and threw in a whole package of 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I added a chicken bouillon cube, some dried tarragon, I subbed the potato for sweet potatoes which was so good with this recipe! I used halibut because its way cheaper. My family went crazy when they tried it, it was so good! I served it with garlic bread and it was delish. When I make it again I might try adding something to thicken up the soup because it was a bit watery rather than creamy but still the flavor was to die for,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
My sons fresh catch of the day was rock fish, red snapper and sea bass.So threw it all in the pot. I replaced milk with heavy cream. Also added 1 cup of corn. Yes a little extra butter and cheese. Then last but not least some hot sauce. It was fantastic. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4 hungry sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Fantastic. Everyone in the family liked it and asked for it to be cooked again. I used left over halibut from a party that we had the night before. I added it to the completed soup at the end. I also used up the leftover potatoes from the night before. I added the potatoes with the garlic but only cooked it for two minutes instead of ten. I didn’t shred the carrots. I threw some baby carrots in a food processor and pulsed them until they were chopped up. I think this is a pretty “healthy” chowder. Most of the base is chicken broth, and there is only ½ cup cream and one tablespoon butter. Not bad, and it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had friends visiting from back East and they said this was the best chowder they have ever had. I added fresh salmon to it also, this is an awesome recipe. Thanks so much! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Fantastic! I've never made a fish chowder before and was skeptical as to the taste. Delicious! I did tweak the recipe just a smidgen. I used evaporated milk instead of the milk and heavy cream and chicken soup base instead of the broth. Other than those changes it's a keeper the way it's written. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gran Torino
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
THE best halibut chowder ever! I thought the ingredients were too simple and one, weird, but fought the urge to change the recipe. It made sense when I ate it. Anything else would have robbed the halibut of its flavor. Served it with my auntie's buckskin bread and was in HEAVEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gran Torino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neah Bay, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Our favorite fish is halibut and we really liked this recipe. It was a good soup to have for dinner on a winters night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe whether you follow the directios exactly or have to modify it when you don't have all the ingredients or not enough of an ingredient. I am a cook for seniors in their homes and they all rave about it .The recipe is slightly different each time as they dont all have all the stuff . Sometimes no cheese,sometimes not enough potato,sometimes less fish ! Its all great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe! My mother made it and gave us some leftovers. My husband liked it so much he had me call my mom and ask for the recipe. We love it. We have also had it with Sole - a fish with a similar texture to halibut and cheaper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States