Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
We live in Northern BC and have been catching halibut for years. We were looking for a new way to cook halibut. This recipe was awesome. Everyone in the family loved it, including the 8 year old picky eater that doesnt eat anything new. Served it with warm buttered sourdough bread. Perfect recipe dont change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUGWUMP6970

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I made this recipe with some halibut that we brought home from Alaska and the only thing I changed was that I used some Tony Cahcere's seasoning instead of the salt and crushed red peppers. My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe and I will be making it again. For just the two of us next time I will cut the ingredients in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
WOW! this was really good! I did have to simmer it for a little while longer, I prefer my chowders to be thicker. Next time I may try it with a smidge of white wine and a little more heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I'm sure this still would have been a 5 star without the changes I made, but I did make some revisions to fit our tastes and to decrease fat/calories even more, as this is already a fairly light chowder. I used cod (about a 1/3 of the price) and the flavor was still great. I also used a couple extra pototoes and pureed them after they got a bit soft to help create a thicker consistency. I replaced the tomatoes with a can of corn, used 1 cup of skim milk, and about 1/2 of a 14 oz can of reduced fat evaporated milk. In addition to the fish, I added a can of minced clams, reserving the clam juice. I mixed the clam juice with about 3-4 Tbsp of cornstarch and that really thickened the chowder nicely. I shook in a good amount of salt and pepper and also added a little Old Bay and cayenne. With the richness of this chowder the way I prepared it, it's hard to believe there is only about 3-4 grams of fat per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Green Jeanne
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
This soup was superb. The flavor complimented the halibut without masking or altering the natural, delicate taste of the fish. I too substituted evaporated milk for the heavy cream as some ingredients are very difficult to come by where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Jeanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Great Halibut application. I thought I had stewed tomatoes on hand, but didn't so I left them out. I also added a bay leaf and thyme (but next time I would only use fresh thyme, so I could remove it) with the chicken stock. Thanks for the recipe. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was an awesome recipe! I did make a few changes which made it from good to the best soup I have ever had... I used all fat free cream and milk and a little more then the recipe called for, I used fat free Half and Half instead of cream and threw in a whole package of 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I added a chicken bouillon cube, some dried tarragon, I subbed the potato for sweet potatoes which was so good with this recipe! I used halibut because its way cheaper. My family went crazy when they tried it, it was so good! I served it with garlic bread and it was delish. When I make it again I might try adding something to thicken up the soup because it was a bit watery rather than creamy but still the flavor was to die for,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
My sons fresh catch of the day was rock fish, red snapper and sea bass.So threw it all in the pot. I replaced milk with heavy cream. Also added 1 cup of corn. Yes a little extra butter and cheese. Then last but not least some hot sauce. It was fantastic. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4 hungry sons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Fantastic. Everyone in the family liked it and asked for it to be cooked again. I used left over halibut from a party that we had the night before. I added it to the completed soup at the end. I also used up the leftover potatoes from the night before. I added the potatoes with the garlic but only cooked it for two minutes instead of ten. I didn’t shred the carrots. I threw some baby carrots in a food processor and pulsed them until they were chopped up. I think this is a pretty “healthy” chowder. Most of the base is chicken broth, and there is only ½ cup cream and one tablespoon butter. Not bad, and it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had friends visiting from back East and they said this was the best chowder they have ever had. I added fresh salmon to it also, this is an awesome recipe. Thanks so much! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States