Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
YUM! We had gotten some halibut from a friend who had come some in Alaska. Wasn't sure what to do with it but a chowder sounded good. This was delicious. I followed the recipe to a T, maybe adding more carrot and a little cornstarch to thicken, but that was it. It turned out great and it was super easy. I'll definitely do this again if I ever have halibut around. Perfect for a cold fall day in MN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Really good. After we tried it tonight, we added some red wine to the leftovers and that really took it up a notch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made this on a whim one night while looking for something to do with a halibut filet. It was delicious! I didn't have canned stewed tomatoes so I just threw a fresh tomato in there. I also was out of milk so I used all cream which made for a very rich soup, but still very, very good. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Delicious! We really liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was good, but I will make some changes next time. I used tilapia and added some corn (will ad more corn next time). Will cook again, but next time I will experiment with some different seasonings and seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was really, really good! I do not care for fish, but my husband does so I try to find ways to put it in our diet. While not the lowest fat fish entree, it is certainly delicious! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
An excellent basic recipe! I too made variations on it: no tomato (not a fan of fish with tomato); used monkfish and some shrimp; upped the butter, and used 1 1/2 cups half-and-half and one half cup good white wine (I used a Chardonnay). Used Swiss instead of Cheddar, and added celery, leek, sage, a little basil, and a little coriander; also some finely chopped spinach and a hint of mace. And white instead of black pepper. No red pepper. It was sumptuous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was a great recipe! It made a delicious chowder. I did make some adjustments from the recipe after seeing other reviews: subbing frozen corn from the canned tomato, using evaporated milk instead of milk, with a splash of cream. I also added half a red pepper, one stock of celery (chopped), and a handful of mushrooms. It soup isn't very thick so I steamed and mashed some potatoes, which made the soup creamier. I might try adding some minced clams and claim juice+corn starch, as suggested by Nicole next time for a smoother texture, also for a bit more of a seafood taste into the soup. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great receipe. I used talapia and cod (that's what I had on hand). I added 2 cans of creamed corn (an awesome addition), and I used 1/2-n-1/2 instead of heavy cream and milk. In my opinion, this recipe does not need the cheese. I tasted the choweder before and after I added the cheese, and I actually think it's a little better without the cheese. Finally, I used cilantro as a garnish, and omigosh, it added a fantastic, wonderful flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States