Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
A warm, cheesy and spicy chowder. Comfort food doesn't get any better than this! The first time I tried this recipe I ate together with a person who wasn't very hungry, so she left a big amount of her plate. I was like "Excellent! more for me!" so I ended up eating three whole servings of this magnificent chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I used 2% milk and a small can of carnation cream. I forgot the cheese and found it was very good even so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was good but not amazing. It was easy to make and everyone enjoyed it. My biggest complaint is that it doesn't feel like a chowder to me, more of a chunky soup. If I make it again I will follow some of the reviewers suggestions and thicken it with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was excellent. I added corn which I think makes it! Also, I get the canned tomatoes with the green chillies. It give the chowder extra kick and goes well with the sweetness of the corn and fish. I use cod which holds up very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Very tasty..used a can of creamed corn instead of the tomatoes and added some old bay seasoning...fantastic..loved by all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
YUM! We had gotten some halibut from a friend who had come some in Alaska. Wasn't sure what to do with it but a chowder sounded good. This was delicious. I followed the recipe to a T, maybe adding more carrot and a little cornstarch to thicken, but that was it. It turned out great and it was super easy. I'll definitely do this again if I ever have halibut around. Perfect for a cold fall day in MN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Really good. After we tried it tonight, we added some red wine to the leftovers and that really took it up a notch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made this on a whim one night while looking for something to do with a halibut filet. It was delicious! I didn't have canned stewed tomatoes so I just threw a fresh tomato in there. I also was out of milk so I used all cream which made for a very rich soup, but still very, very good. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Delicious! We really liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States