Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Oh my, this was so good! My husband could not stop eating this and said it tasted like something from a restaurant at the coast....that's a keeper. I followed the recipe exactly except for a couple very minor changes because I was working with what I had. I had some leftover halibut from the night before and decided to create another meal out of it. I'm so glad I found this recipe. I rinsed some of the sauce and seasonings off the halibut in water and chopped it up ready to be reused. Only changes made with ingredients was adding 2 cups regular milk (had no heavy cream) 14 oz canned diced tomatoes (had no stewed). For those of you who said it wasn't thick enough all you have to do is cook the potatoes longer and thats it. No need to add starch or puree potatoes. After awhile the potatoes begin to fall apart but you are still left with chunks of potatoes creating a soup very much like a chowder....yum, yum. Instead of cooking potatoes in soup for 25 minutes I cooked it more like 40 minutes. Also, make sure you add enough potatoes that it will be able to thicken your soup. The recipe calls for 2 large potatoes. I would think they would have to be very large. I had medium sized so I added about 5. At the end of cooking I added the milk and seasoned to my liking and cooked another 5 minutes.Then, I tossed in the halibut last. Fish still tasted moist and flavorful even with it being a day old. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I loved this recipe. Simple and delish. I only changed the fish. I love my halibut too much to put in a soup, so I used a great cod and shrimp. I served it with a gluten free Irish soda bread. You have to try. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Absolutely lovely. The cheese isn't necessary, and the soup's more elegant and just as filling and creamy without it (not to mention easier to clean up). I usually make it with cod, but have also used snapper. Everyone loves it. Everyone asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I loved this recipe! It was very easy to make and the flavour was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpardely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Tried this recipe with leftover halibut and it was absolutely wonderful !! We love garlic, so increased the recipe to 6 cloves and added a cup of chopped celery & shredded cabbage..... A REAL KEEPER !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
We wondered about the lack of spices and herbs but it turned out excellent with a lot of flavour. We followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Used fresh caught rockfish. Diced carrots, upped cheese, red pepper flakes and heavy cream. Add cream AFTER fish is cooked, milk/cream curdled. Adding milk AFTER fish cooked would have made it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is pretty yummy. Added a little cooking wine after sauteing the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi Henning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
The soup was sweet and the vegetables were good in it, but it was a bit bland and very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very awesome only changes I made was I took some of the soup out and then added flour to make a thickener then when thick and bubbly added it back to the chowder then let it cook on low heat for another 30 min. I also added celery. Awesome chowder I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States