Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Exceptional. I added bell peppers, corn, and jalapeño peppers, and used whiting fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My daughter brought me back halibut pieces from Ahousat (a small Native community on Flores Island, not too far from Tofino, BC) & I needed a recipe - this worked out perfectly! This recipe is wonderful! I added fresh basil & dill (couple tbsp each), some sliced fresh mushrooms & some chopped celery. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes so I used 8 oz of crushed tomatoes. I used Lactose Free Half & Half cream. I wish I had read the reviews first & had blended the potatoes to make the soup thicker more like chowder, but that's my only complaint (I'll do that next time). I also had a few tbsp of sour cream that needed to be used up so I threw that in the soup too. The soup goes really well with Rye bread toast. :D BTW, I'm not usually a fan of tomato based chowders but this recipe changed my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe. More like a soup than a chowder though. I followed the recipe, but substituted regular milk for the cream to reduce the fat and used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes in lieu of the stewed tomatoes. Don't let the lack of spices dissuade you - the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Yum really good! Pretty easy to make. I added old bay and clams in addition to the halibut. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
One word, delicious! Big hit at the family dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I left out the tomatoes and added a can of niblets corn including the liquid. I added 1 tsp of Bay seasoning. I used a can of evaporated milk and 3.25 % milk and I added a bit of gourmet curry powder. At the end is added some chopped up peppers. I also added a bit if thyme. I also used grated extra old cheddar cheese - about 2/3 of a cup. Instinct led me to make those adjustment and it ended up being a fabulous large pot of soup which pleased everyone. I kept the potatoes and carrots chunky and sautéed the onions before doing anything. Everyone loved it! Hope you try it Tyson. Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Ok I was loving it until I added the shredded cheddar, and then DISASTER STRUCK! I had tasted the broth, followed all instructions (except left out the tomatoes), loved the taste, but when I stirred in the shredded cheddar, the whole thing CURDLED! Yikes - it must have been too hot??? I ate a bowl but if I would have had guests, could not have served it. This recipe needs to contain more detail about cooling the chowder before adding the cheddar??? It was delicious with the carrots & red pepper, a very distinctive taste. Not so good after it curdled, however. Not sure what the cheese added to this recipe. Also, the halibut cubes should be smaller than shown for fish wimps - halibut's a pretty strong taste and maybe best in little doses? I would also throw in a bit of chopped celery if trying it again, which I will. Sans cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
It is a good start for a base but like others have said, put your own flare on it. I did thicken mine so it was more chowder like. Also used an Asian chili/tomato paste instead of canned tomatoes as well as more halibut and carrots. I like heat so I spiced it up a bit more, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was very good way to use up left over Hallibut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Good soup. Could use a variety of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States