Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Good soup. Could use a variety of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Made a few changes & substitutions & it worked out GREAT! I used 3 potatoes instead two-- ooh I know, I know living dangerously! Used 4 cups of chicken stock instead of 6 (yup I'm a rebel) I used can of corn instead of tomatoes & used a giant can of costco clams, drained (did save 1 cup of clam of juice which I mixed with corn starch for a thickening agent). Did not use heavy whipping cream instead used 1cup of NF milk. Didn't have carrots on hand so used mushrooms & bell peppers. I added the clams & the halibut the last 10-12 mins of cooking & it was perfect. Thanks Nicole Burdelle's review..I got the idea of clams & corn from her. You gotta make this, it's THE BOMB!! Next time I make it I will use salmon in place of halibut just to try it out :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is an awesome dish. I adjusted a few things- used cod instead of halibut and evaporated milk instead of heavy cream and milk and seafood broth instead of chicken broth. I also added shrimp, celery, creamy corn, some hot sauce and herb and garlic spices. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Petty tasteless and disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I am a chef on a yacht and made this for lunch today. In 2 months of cooking on this boat, this is the most loved meal I have made. The owner's quote....."exceptional". I halved the recipe and used two prosciutto-wrapped halibut fillets left over from the night before. Just chunked them up and added them toward the end (the prosciutto was a nice touch!). It easily fed 5 hungry people. I pretty much stuck to the recipe, though I did add a can of corn and thickened it up just slightly with a tsp of cornstarch. I have been requested to make this whenever guests are on board now. Thanks so much for posting this. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Had some fresh Alaskan Halibut giving to me and I needed a recipe. I don't know much about cooking so I went online and found this recipe. Super easy to make ya just follow the directions. I loved it and I must have gotten it right cause my wife loved it as well. Must be a 5 star recipe for me to get it right on the first try. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Recepie aws easy to follow.I also elected to use corn in stead of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Made as written, used cod instead of halibut and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I loved it, but my hubby didn't care for tomatoes mixed with the cream chowder. But I have a finer palette than him and think this is a great way to eat all the Alaskan halibut we caught this summer. I didn't add too much red pepper, as I don't like the burning sensation only the flavor of spice, and it was excellent. My daughter, who is 6, ate the entire bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nresch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
It was really good, but I will puree more potatoes to thicken it up the next time and skip the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States