Hearty Halibut Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Like some of the other reviewers, I used cod ($3/lb) instead halibut ($13/lb), but other than that the only change I made was to add a few dashes of Old Bay seasoning. I really liked the result; creamy and rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Delicious! Even my husband, who says he hates halibut, enjoyed this dish. All of my children went back for seconds. My only complaint was more a personal issue. I shouldn't have cooked it for so long, because the halibut got a little bit tough. However, that made it a very meaty stew, so I don't think anybody minded. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Goorchenko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
WOW! This was my first fish chowder/soup, and this stuff was awesome!! I did make a few minor changes, I halved the recipe, I also used cod instead of halibut, I also used 1 can of cream corn in place of the tomatoes. When this soup is finished the broth tastes amazing. I cannot wait to see how it taste tomorrow, after the flavors have had a chance to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Excellent recipe/easy to revise to your own needs; I doubled the butter, added 2Tbsp flour to the butter & onions, used 2lbs walleye instead of halibut, only added 4 cups chicken stock, sub'd cream corn for the tomatoes and used 1cup heavy cream - no milk. My family likes thick soup/chowder, and this was very thick (I might add a cup of milk next time...) It was sweet, savory and scrumptious! Even my son, who H-A-T-E-S fish of any kind, ate it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love this recipe, so easy to make and it tastes great without getting that "fishy" flavour. I added about 1/2 tsp. of Old Bay spice, 1 tbsp. of dill and 3 celerys. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amytee
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Best chowder recipe out there! We've used halibut & ling cod, both, and it's silky & delicious. Addition of corn is a great add-in I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Exceptional. I added bell peppers, corn, and jalapeño peppers, and used whiting fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My daughter brought me back halibut pieces from Ahousat (a small Native community on Flores Island, not too far from Tofino, BC) & I needed a recipe - this worked out perfectly! This recipe is wonderful! I added fresh basil & dill (couple tbsp each), some sliced fresh mushrooms & some chopped celery. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes so I used 8 oz of crushed tomatoes. I used Lactose Free Half & Half cream. I wish I had read the reviews first & had blended the potatoes to make the soup thicker more like chowder, but that's my only complaint (I'll do that next time). I also had a few tbsp of sour cream that needed to be used up so I threw that in the soup too. The soup goes really well with Rye bread toast. :D BTW, I'm not usually a fan of tomato based chowders but this recipe changed my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe. More like a soup than a chowder though. I followed the recipe, but substituted regular milk for the cream to reduce the fat and used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes in lieu of the stewed tomatoes. Don't let the lack of spices dissuade you - the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Yum really good! Pretty easy to make. I added old bay and clams in addition to the halibut. Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States