Hearty Fettuccini Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
so so so good! Thanks. I made this with chorizo sausage and added a can of tomato paste as well. I made it a couple days before my dinner to let the flavours meld! We loved it with homemade noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Great recipes. My family loved it. I used dry parsley basil and thyme. Also the store had no ground veal. But used ground pork. It still tasted good. I looking forward to making this recipe for a pot luck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This dish is sinfully delicious. I hadn't cooked with 3 different ground meats before. It really made a difference. I used hot Italian sausage instead of mild. I added extra canned tomatoes to the leftovers to suit my taste for a less meaty sauce. The pancetta added a lot to the flavor too. I'm adding this to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
LOVE this recipe!!! Prep and cooking times are long; however it is that recipe for special occasions or when you have extra time on your hands. Have always received compliments on this dish. I do tend to add a couple of bay leaves and some oregano and other italian seasonings. ALWAYS get requests at home for this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This sauce was amazingly rich. It also freezes well and actually is better after the freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUMANFACTORSUCF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Love this recipe. It is even better a few days later. I substituted ground beef for the pork and used 1 pound of sausage (2 spicy and 2 mild italian sausages). I also used 2 cans of whole, peeled tomatoes and 2 cans of crushed tomatoes with sauce. Finally, I added a small can of tomato paste. I will be making this again as it is worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I love ragu or bolognese sauces and have been tweaking the one I usually use. This recipe was great and seemed to solve all the problems of the one I had been using. Turned out perfect, and as always well worth the time and effort! Classic bolognese with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I do not use the meats that this recipe called for, therefore I only used bacon and bracciole (rolled up beef slices with parm cheese and garilc in the middle) I've never made sauce with milk in it...very good! A nice heavy sauce for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This recipe was great. I made it a few days before we ate it and the flavors really came together. I can do without the celery though. Instead of just adding basil I used my homemade pesto about 1/4 cup. I think I will use more pesto next time but it gave it a great taste. I might try spaghetti next time. Fettuccini is not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I think this was an ok recipe for pasta sauce. I felt the whole ordeal was too labor intensive for the result. Granted, I'm not particularly familiar with bolognese sauce, and was trying this for the first time. Really though, I don't think I'll make it again, the only reason that I'm giving this dish a 3 is because I don't think I'd like this sauce period, even in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States