Hearty Fettuccini Bolognese Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Love this recipe. It is even better a few days later. I substituted ground beef for the pork and used 1 pound of sausage (2 spicy and 2 mild italian sausages). I also used 2 cans of whole, peeled tomatoes and 2 cans of crushed tomatoes with sauce. Finally, I added a small can of tomato paste. I will be making this again as it is worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This recipe was great. I made it a few days before we ate it and the flavors really came together. I can do without the celery though. Instead of just adding basil I used my homemade pesto about 1/4 cup. I think I will use more pesto next time but it gave it a great taste. I might try spaghetti next time. Fettuccini is not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I love ragu or bolognese sauces and have been tweaking the one I usually use. This recipe was great and seemed to solve all the problems of the one I had been using. Turned out perfect, and as always well worth the time and effort! Classic bolognese with good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This sauce was amazingly rich. It also freezes well and actually is better after the freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUMANFACTORSUCF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
so so so good! Thanks. I made this with chorizo sausage and added a can of tomato paste as well. I made it a couple days before my dinner to let the flavours meld! We loved it with homemade noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Great recipes. My family loved it. I used dry parsley basil and thyme. Also the store had no ground veal. But used ground pork. It still tasted good. I looking forward to making this recipe for a pot luck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I do not use the meats that this recipe called for, therefore I only used bacon and bracciole (rolled up beef slices with parm cheese and garilc in the middle) I've never made sauce with milk in it...very good! A nice heavy sauce for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
LOVE this recipe!!! Prep and cooking times are long; however it is that recipe for special occasions or when you have extra time on your hands. Have always received compliments on this dish. I do tend to add a couple of bay leaves and some oregano and other italian seasonings. ALWAYS get requests at home for this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This dish is sinfully delicious. I hadn't cooked with 3 different ground meats before. It really made a difference. I used hot Italian sausage instead of mild. I added extra canned tomatoes to the leftovers to suit my taste for a less meaty sauce. The pancetta added a lot to the flavor too. I'm adding this to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mile High Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
I think this was an ok recipe for pasta sauce. I felt the whole ordeal was too labor intensive for the result. Granted, I'm not particularly familiar with bolognese sauce, and was trying this for the first time. Really though, I don't think I'll make it again, the only reason that I'm giving this dish a 3 is because I don't think I'd like this sauce period, even in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States