Hearty Chicken Vegetable Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
What a unique flavor! The mushrooms, but particularly the red pepper, lend distinct and different flavors that make this soup just a little unusual and very, very good. I took the easy way out and used a good, boxed chicken broth and some leftover rotisserie chicken. All I had to do was chop up the vegetables and throw them all in the broth along with the chicken pieces and soup pasta. Let it all simmer away and 15 minutes later it was ready to serve. I left out the carrots because I don't like them (and now that I'm a grown-up I don't have to eat them) but I would NOT recommend omitting the red pepper as that's what gives this soup its special flavor. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This soup was great. I've been trying to find a good chicken noodle veggie soup and this is it. It is time consuming but worth it and make ALOT of soup. One change I would make is I didn't like the tortellini in the soup.(Although my hubby liked it) Too much noodle - I will leave this out next time and add more veggies or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I have been making this soup for the last few years and it is a great soup for those cold days. I changed nothing about the receipe. It makes a large pot but is wonderful. Takes a while to make but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is wonderful! I was very excited to find this recipe because I wanted chicken soup with tons of vegetables in it. This is the winner! PS. I also added a can of green beans and a can of corn (both drained). I'm just so excited to have this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
It's a lot of work but well worth the effort because the soup has lots of flavor and just gets better day after day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Great! I made it with rice spirals, red peppers, celery, zucchini, pre-made broth and cooked chicken. It turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I needed to use up some vegetables before heading off on vacation so I loosely used this recipe as a guide. In doing so I think I proved that you can sub just about any vegetables and still come up with a wonderful soup. I didn’t want to make 40 servings, so I braised a chicken breast in chicken broth, cooled and shredded it. I strained the broth and put it back in the pot. I added celery, carrots, mushrooms and more broth and simmered that for about ten minutes. I then added the shredded chicken, red and yellow bell peppers and chopped green onions and simmered for another five minutes. I added a good amount of Cajun seasoning and some leftover, cooked bow tie pasta and heated through. WOW! It was a delicious soup! I realize I didn’t make this recipe, and I’m sure it would be delicious as written. But I did want to write this review to show others that substitutions can be made with equally good results. UPDATE 10/11/11 - I froze my leftovers and pulled one out for dinner last night. I was in a rush and didn't have already cooked pasta to throw in like I did the last time, but I did have cooked rice, so I used that. EXCELLENT again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Excellent soup! I also added a box of frozen spinach and two 15 ounce cans of diced tomatoes. The next time I make it, I'm going to use two red bell peppers instead of one. Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
The only change I made was start with chicken stock. It was awesome! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
Tried it on the family and they enjoyed every spoonful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States