Hearty Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Great recipe, loved it and it keeps you full ALL DAY! I added some flour mixed with water to thicken it. You can also use corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I have a pot of soup cooking all winter long. My husband says this was the best soup I had made yet. I added 1 tsp. dried thyme and the juice of about 1/2 lemon to give it a little dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ?Carol?
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I really like this recipe but I have to add garlic, cilantro and tomato & instead of the red bell pepper I used chopped jalapeño, I like to add potatoes & pasta (shells etc) salt, pepper & knorr seasoning + condiments and spices ...(Thyme,marjoram,rosemary,oregano, basil, savory and sage.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ?Carol?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Extremely easy to make and delicious. I will be sharing this recipe with my friends. I give this five star because of the simple ingredients, easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I love this resipe except with a few changes myself ---leave out the red pepper and corn there not needed in such a great chicken soup, I also use a tablespoon of ginger--so great if someone is sick with flu or cold or just under the weather a bit its great for all that ails you, as granma use to say. I grew up with this and its a hit with all the family on really cold days too. We call it chicken ginger soup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Needs more seasoning, for sure. Very bland. I loved the barley in this soup, but the corn was not appealing to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but it lacked any seasoning at all. I made as directed, but added salt, pepper, parsley, and granulated garlic after tasting. I served this with Rosemary bread and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Gold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was VERY good! I only rated as 4 stars due to the lack of seasoning. I halved the recipe, increased the barley a little, and added 1 t. minced garlic, 3/4 t. salt, 1/8 t. each of pepper, sage, thyme, and basil. It gave it just enough flavor without overwhelming you. Without it I think it would have been fairly bland. My entire family REALLY liked it! Even my 5 year old raved about it saying "this is the best soup ever!" and he doesn't like soup! Very good! It will definately be made again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
very easy and so nutritious ..added to my favorites,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States