Hearty Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is a very good soup. I replaced the "vegetable oil" with olive oil and cut the teaspoon of sugar to half a teaspoon. Cabbage is sweet enough without the sugar. But it helps lighten the taste of the half and half. All in all this is one of the healthiest recipes for cabbage soup I've found on this site, despite the half and half and sugar. All the other ingredients are fresh and wholesome. A rarity in these days of "start with on jar of mayonnaise and two cans of creamed soup" cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Delicious! Who would have thought apple and cabbage go so well together? But they do :) We're sometimes vegan, so I might try it some day with soy milk instead of half-and-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Well...we made this soup and found that it was a little...overpowered by the Italian seasoning. Also, all of the ingredients have a similar flavor and texture which makes it a little hard to eat. I'd make it again on a cold day, but certainly not more than a once a month meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made some changes based on what I had available and found this soup pleasantly light and tasty. I used a sweet potatoe in place of white. I added some diced celery and shredded carrot used heavy cream 1 apple and 1/2 c applesauce and 2 cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I love all the ingredients by themselves, but this combination didn't make it. I think if the broth and the 1/2 + 1/2 each had an extra 1/2 cup of liquid, and the potato was a medium one, this might have been more like a soup. I'll try again using my changes, and possibly add some caraway or anise seed for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I pretty much made this recipe as written but added more broth. It is not very appetizing looking, that's for sure, but tasted very good. If I made it again, I would add some other veggies or something for color and maybe not shred everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful base soup! I dislike thin, "brothy" soups of any kind, but this one's nice and hearty, much better than most cabbage soups. The tiny bit of sugar really brings out the flavors. I sauteed some polish sausage along with the onion, and added some extra veggies. Great for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie F

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pattonsburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Even adding more broth and half and half didn't make this soup. It was more like a bizarre cabbage-onion stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
THis soup was unfortunately not liked by anyone in the house. I think , the texture is the problem. Shredded cabbage in the soup tastes strange. I pureed the soup and mixed with equal quantity of cooked yellow lentils with some cumin and cayenne. Added finely chopped fresh parseley as well. My husband just loved it and couldn't believe that I used the cabbage soup as base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
This was pretty good. My husband really liked it. I did use 3 cups broth instead of the 1 1/2 cups called for. Didn't neccissarily make if more soupy. I don't mind it was a little think. We will add some spicy ground sasage next time just for some variety
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States