Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Before using the oats in this recipe, I ran them through the food processor to get a finer consistancy. I also did not have dried cherries, I substituted Craisins. I got twelve biggish muffins out of one recipe. Baked at 350*, they were done at a little over 22 minutes. These were VERY good, perfectly sweet, moist and slightly chewy and packed with all kinds of yummy goodies. The whole family loved them. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used soy milk instead of yogurt, spelt flour instead of whole wheat, and raisins instead of cherries. I replaced the brown sugar with half the amount of honey, and found that these were VERY sweet muffins. I love the color, texture and taste of these moist muffins! When I make them again, I will plan of freezing some, as I'm sure they will freeze well! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I really, really enjoyed these healthy muffins, so did my almost 2 year old daughter and my husband. They were delicious and moist. We are striving to reduce processed foods and this was a perfect addition to our meal plans. I almost exactly followed the recipe. I substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil (1/2 cup for 1/2 cup) and didn't add the pecans because I didn't have any on hand and I wasn't sure if my daughter would eat them anyway. My yogurt was Greek yogurt. My only regret is not doubling this batch. I felt great about letting my daughter eat these for dinner because of all the veggies and fruit. These muffins barely rise, so fill your muffin tins completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Great muffins! Very moist and dense. I added a little vanilla and used Craisins instead of dried cherries, but other than that didn't change anything. I cooked mine for the full 22 minutes to bake - and maybe could have used a few more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I substituted a shredded apple (with peel) for the zucchini and used honey flavoured Greek yogurt. These were delicious and even got top marks from my picky husband. This recipe excites me because I can have a lot of fun with substitutions and experiment with flavours. I will definitely make this again and again! Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Moist and delicious! I substituted half the oil with apple sauce and 1/4 cup Splenda for the brown sugar. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Probably the best muffin recipe that I have made. Super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made it more of a super healthy savoury muffin by using 3 bananas, adding some protein powder and scraping the oil, sugar and dried fruit from it. The muffins still turned out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
These were amazing- moist and flavorful. I made changes per my taste, as I see many reviewers did. Apple sauce instead of oil, no nuts, added some ground flax seed.... loved them and they will be my new go-to breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made these in preparation for my son's arrival in about 3 weeks. They are delicious, nutritious and super moist. I added some chia seeds for extra fiber/omega fats, and walnuts instead of pecans. I doubled the recipe and froze most of them (after my husband and I sampled a couple of course). These will make a prefect breakfast or snack on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States