Hearty Breakfast Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Very good. The only thing I changed was I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil because it seemed like the right idea. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
These are fantastic and healthy! They are perfctly moist and not too sweet. Also, i domt feel bad eating them because they have fruits AND vegetables in them. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used chocolate chips instead of cherries and it worked well with the recipe. Next time I'll try it with cherries also. Both my brother and husband loved them and typically brother hates "healthy" tasting things (aka dry, unsweet, and strange). I will be making these again and again. PERFECT for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These are great. I substituted apple sauce for the oil, and used egg whites instead of the full egg. I also used chocolate chips instead of the cherries. I will maybe add a bit flour next time as they are quite moist and seem to take longer to bake than suggested. They don't rise much so fill tins to the brim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Snowed in today so tried this recipe and it was fabulous! Only change I made was to substitute coconut oil for the vegetable oil. Very moist. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Great recipe!! Easy to modify with indgredints you have on hand. Love these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Vaquera
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Very adaptable. I make these all the time at the request of my hubby, but I use leftover baked plain sweet potatoes or canned pumpkin in place of the zucchini - no one in my house cared much for these when zucchini was used. You can pretty much use any flavor of yogurt that you happen to have - I've used plain, peach, vanilla, and pumpkin pie flavored yogurt, both light and greek types, all successfully. I use Craisins or dried blueberries in place of the dried cherries. I also add 1/4 cup ground flaxseed meal and sub unsweetened applesauce for the oil. SO good! I sometimes have to increase the oats by 1/4 cup because they can be almost overly moist. Wonderful flavor! Don't leave out the ginger - it really makes these stand out over others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Loved it! I added macadamia nuts and then the entire muffin tasted like them. Only bad thing about them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I liked these, but it seemed like the time it takes to bake muffins isn't enough to cook carrots properly. They tasted raw to me. Still, I had no problem eating these for breakfast and snacks as long as they lasted. I didn't have any coconut or walnuts, so I left those out; I don't like walnuts but I think the coconut would have improved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Everything CaliforniaGirl said in her review is what I have to say about these muffins. I did everything she did and ended up with the same results. I also have to add that the muffins tasted salty; 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking soda with 1 teaspoon of salt is too much sodium. I tried adding a little more sugar to the second batch, but it didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cali, Valle Del Cauca, Colombia
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Delicious!!! I halved the recipe because hubby isn't a big muffin fan. I subbed apple for zucchini, used steel cut oats, used pan toasted walnuts and crasins, (accidentally) doubled the ginger and tossed in about a tablespoon of chia seeds. I had 12 small muffins even though I halved it- I think they would have been way too moist if I had only done 6 muffins. Before popping them in the oven, I sprinkled the tops with a little extra cinnamon. These are great, but next time I may add more flour to make them a little more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States