Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
My toddler has been obsessed with "cookies" lately. She ALWAYS asks for them and most of the time, from a nutritional standpoint, I have to say no. But with this recipe, I can feel a little better about offering this as her snack with a glass of milk. I wanted to up the nutrients so I adjusted the recipe according to other reviewers comments. Instead of 1/2 cup butter I used 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup apple sauce. I added a ripened banana in with the peanut butter mixture. I didn't have wheat germ, so I subbed ground flax seed. Kids and parents will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I used crunchy natural peanut butter, and followed recipe exactly. I think they turned out wonderful. Getting my picky kids to eat them is a different story!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This is an excellent recipe as is! I added mini chocolate chips to part of the batter for my chocoholic husband. Why buy prepackaged breakfast cookies when you can make them? Great recipe for adapting too and I can see trying with applesauce, flaxseed meal, wheat germ or dried cranberries for something different. Definitely a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is soooooooo YUMMY I can't believe it's healthier than a regular oatmeal cookie! The only change I made was adding 1 cup chocloate chips instead of raisins since hubby doesn't like raisins. Next time I will use applesauce instead of butter as other raters have tried. I will also add some raisins to half the batch for ME. This is a filling and healthy breakfast on the go or a treat any time of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by In My LIfe
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Although I live in a house of picky eaters, I was still surprised no one would eat these. These taste a little too "healthy" for my tastes- you can't really taste the peanut butter, just more of a whole-grain taste. Next time, I'll try adding a banana like another reviewer suggested, and double the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In My LIfe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I have been making these cookies for a couple of years now. They are very filling and will actually hold a teenage boy over until lunch! I use buttermilk instead of water, add 1/2 cup ground flax seed, and replace raisins with chocolate chips(need something to attract the kids). Don't forget to flatten slightly because they don't really spread while baking. I bake mine for 18 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I have made these cookies a few times now, and feel the need to write a fantastic review. I did make modifications based on other reviews to suit our own tastes. I used white whole wheat flour in place of the whole wheat and part of the white. I also used rolled oats, applesauce for half of the butter, egg whites, and chocolate chips, and omitted the cinnamon. I used a combination of regular peanut butter and natural crunchy. These were fantastic. I understand that reviewing a recipe based on our own changes is a little off, BUT the original is so good, it can handle lots of changes. I am not planning on serving these for breakfast, instead as a replacement for some very pricey all natural kids granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I've been searching for a quick and easy breakfast substitute and this is a great one! The peanut butter flavor is subtle, but very yummy! I used all of the suggested substitutions that sounded worthwhile- 4 egg whites instead of 2 eggs; flax seed instead of wheat germ; half applesauce for some of the butter; a combination of honey and brown sugar instead of ALL of the sugar and chocolate chips instead of raisins! Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOBSTER
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These are very good!! Very adaptable recipe. Incorporated Soifua's suggestions (May 20, 2008 Review), added some flax meal as well and dusted tops with cinnamon brown sugar prior to baking. A good option for a quick breakfast on the go. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My husband's new favorite on-the-go breakfast...he is up at 4 AM and out the door at 4:15! A tasty change from toast. These are delicious as is, and also a terrific cookie for adapting by add-ins such as some chocolate morsels, some trail mix, or a dribble of honey. All in all, a delighful keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States