Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is soooooooo YUMMY I can't believe it's healthier than a regular oatmeal cookie! The only change I made was adding 1 cup chocloate chips instead of raisins since hubby doesn't like raisins. Next time I will use applesauce instead of butter as other raters have tried. I will also add some raisins to half the batch for ME. This is a filling and healthy breakfast on the go or a treat any time of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by In My LIfe
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Although I live in a house of picky eaters, I was still surprised no one would eat these. These taste a little too "healthy" for my tastes- you can't really taste the peanut butter, just more of a whole-grain taste. Next time, I'll try adding a banana like another reviewer suggested, and double the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In My LIfe

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I have been making these cookies for a couple of years now. They are very filling and will actually hold a teenage boy over until lunch! I use buttermilk instead of water, add 1/2 cup ground flax seed, and replace raisins with chocolate chips(need something to attract the kids). Don't forget to flatten slightly because they don't really spread while baking. I bake mine for 18 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I have made these cookies a few times now, and feel the need to write a fantastic review. I did make modifications based on other reviews to suit our own tastes. I used white whole wheat flour in place of the whole wheat and part of the white. I also used rolled oats, applesauce for half of the butter, egg whites, and chocolate chips, and omitted the cinnamon. I used a combination of regular peanut butter and natural crunchy. These were fantastic. I understand that reviewing a recipe based on our own changes is a little off, BUT the original is so good, it can handle lots of changes. I am not planning on serving these for breakfast, instead as a replacement for some very pricey all natural kids granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I've been searching for a quick and easy breakfast substitute and this is a great one! The peanut butter flavor is subtle, but very yummy! I used all of the suggested substitutions that sounded worthwhile- 4 egg whites instead of 2 eggs; flax seed instead of wheat germ; half applesauce for some of the butter; a combination of honey and brown sugar instead of ALL of the sugar and chocolate chips instead of raisins! Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOBSTER
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
These are very good!! Very adaptable recipe. Incorporated Soifua's suggestions (May 20, 2008 Review), added some flax meal as well and dusted tops with cinnamon brown sugar prior to baking. A good option for a quick breakfast on the go. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
My husband's new favorite on-the-go breakfast...he is up at 4 AM and out the door at 4:15! A tasty change from toast. These are delicious as is, and also a terrific cookie for adapting by add-ins such as some chocolate morsels, some trail mix, or a dribble of honey. All in all, a delighful keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I love these cookies, they're not very sweet and they're good for breakfast or snack. Don't let the calorie section scare you, I made 27 cookies from one recipe and I used my ice cream scoop and when I measured how much dough the scoop holds it's 1/4 cup (that would make one serving 2 cookies plus like a bite of another cookie, one fills me up just fine). BUT I make mine healthier and it's moist and holds together well and has to be less calories. Here's what I did...no butter, add 1 c applesauce (unsweetened), used 1/2 c honey and 1/2 c brown sugar (in place of all the brown sugar), I also used all whole wheat flour and craisins (instead of raisins) - it's sooo good. If you like a heartier cookie I'd use rolled oats, quick oats make a softer cookie - both are yummy. If you like crunch in your cookies I think sunflower seeds would be great in them. They also freeze well, plus I've made them with soy butter for an allergic child, it's a little drier but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I really like this recipe. My son hates to eat breakfast and since he started school he really needed to have something before he left. These cookies have a lot of nutrition and compared to things like Nutri-Grain bars are very healthy. I substitued chocolate chips for the raisins just to make them more appealing to my family and used natural peanut butter. I love that this recipe does not call for any white sugar. You won't miss it! They are great and just what we needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
These cookies were a bit dry, I will try using some applesauce like another person suggested. I may even throw in some yogurt to moisten them up. None the less everyone enjoyed them. My 2 1/2 year old couldn't get enough of them and was sure pleased to be able to eat them for breakfast and a night snack. Will definately make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States