Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very good. Would suggest to drink milk or coffee (or coffee with milk) with the cookies. Would suggest less peanut butter in recipe and more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smilesness
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
These were great. I split the whole recipe in half though. Partly since I didn't want a lot and partly because I didn't have enough PB. Used only whole wheat flour, only a half cup of brown sugar, 1 1/2 tablespoons of butter, added 3/4 cup of wheat germ, put more cinnamon (because it's delicious), use rolled oats, and added half of banana. I placed them in huge chunks and they came out bulky, which was good. And they came out sweet but not too sweet. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Chicago, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Great! Three out of our four young kids like them, and the grownups like them with their coffee. To adjust to our taste, we skipped the raisins and cinnamon and went with chocolate chips instead. To make them healthier, we used Smart Balance butter sticks, reduced the sugar to 1 cup and added 1/3 cup of ground flax. Yum. We like them both made with water and made with buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Very good, but I don't recommend using Simply Jif peanut butter. It has 33% less sugar, so I think this recipe needs more sugar next time, unless I use regular peanut butter. But overall, very tastey and healthy. I didn't have wheat germ so I added more oatmeal. I didn't have quick cooking oatmeal so I used the old fashioned kind and it turned out just fine! I'll make this again - I need a change from the same 'ol same 'ol breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These are amazingly good! My batch made about four dozen, and I froze three bags thinking they would last a while. I'm pretty sure my family had them eaten within about five days. In place of the butter, I used one mashed banana and 1/4 cup applesauce. Added dried cranberries and chocolate chips, toasted almonds. Didn't have wheat germ on hand, so I ground up some Quaker Oats squares for a little crunch. These were so soft and yummy...a healthy breakfast option or a healthy snack! Everyone in my house from age 13 mos to five to 32 loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great Breakfasty cookie! I used the recipe as written, ONLY switching the mix-ins. The texture is great and the flavor is super delicious and healthy. It tastes more "health food" than "cookie." It is not as sweet as a traditional cookie - I didn't feel guilty eating them for breakfast with a yogurt! I used a whole bag of cranberries, 1/4 cup of flax seed and about 1/2 cup of pecans. I did consider the wheat germ a mix-in and switched that to GrapeNuts cereal. OO might I suggest chunky peanutbutter for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
We love these cookies.. My kids sometimes don't grab breakfast before school.. but if they can grab a cookie then they are allset to go..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I think I may have over baked these, because they came out quite dry and dense. The taste is okay (probably would be better if I had had the ingredients recommended). I used sunbutter instead of peanut butter and half applesauce and SmartBalance margarine, and flaxseed with wheat germ because those are the items I had on hand. What's really turning me off is that the insides of these cookies are positively GREEN instead of brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
FANTASTIC! I go to sleep excited knowing I get to eat this for breakfast, now how bad is that! I substituted applesauce instead of butter and did not miss the butter - that also made them a little more soft. Off to the freezer they went. Instead of egg, I also did a "flaxseed" egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States