Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Really liked this recipe. I have made it before using self rising flour and it turned out great. I used all purpose flour and added the 1tsp salt and my husband said they were way too salty. So I am going to try unsalted butter instead. Also the recipe said 2 tsp of baking soda that would also make them taste salty. Can I cut down on the salt or the baking soda without making it too heavy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparks55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
good with choco chips, raisins, and extra nuts! ooh and crunchy peanut butter! also used spent grain flour. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious!!!! And not that peanut-buttery, thank goodness. I used dates instead of raisins, and my little guy thought they were chocolate chips!!! Also, 16 min. seemed enough baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I've made this several times with variations on the add ins and its been great each time! Filling, satisfying and healthy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by d.anna.
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe! I didn't have raisins, but I had currants (I know.. crazy, right?), and then because I am a chocolate addict, I added a small handful of mini-chocolate chips. I did not change anything else. A-MA-ZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d.anna.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
These are so good! I added one cup of walnuts and one cup of chocolate chips to add more protein and a little bit of sweetness. I also used chunky peanut butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Excellent cookie! Will be great for morning snacks, much healthier alternative! I replaced 1/2 the butter with applesauce, reduced the brown sugar to 1 c, and replaced the raisins with craisins. Yummy! We will probably keep our freezer stocked with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Excellent cookie! Exactly as described! Tasty, hearty and very easy. A very flexible recipe, we made it as is except we left out salt (always do) and reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Next time we will add different fruit, seeds or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Ehh. My son will eat them if he's really hungry after school but mostly they are just taking up space in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These were great. Everyone at work loved them. I used only whole wheat flour and used flax meal instead of wheat germ. Also reduced the sugar by 1/4. They are great warmed in the microwave and really kept me full until lunchtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States