Hearty Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I scooped these out with an ice cream scoop and we called them "muffin tops", which is just what they look like. My kids and husband loved them as is, although the one with a huge sweet tooth had to have them with jam. We usually try to go low-sugar, so this was a welcome addition to my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Versatile and delicious!!! I will use this often for a healthy quick snack for me and the kids. This time I used currants and hazelnuts with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Just finished making these and they are great! My kids will get home later today from school so the true test will be then! As I read in a previous review, I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup butter. I used chocolate chips instead of raisins because my kids won't eat raisins. However I think 1/2 raisins and 1/2 chocolate chips would be good. I do think that I will 1/2 the cinnimon next time because they do have a rather strong cinnimon flavor. But they are moist and really good. Good sub for breakfast on the fly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Really liked this recipe. I have made it before using self rising flour and it turned out great. I used all purpose flour and added the 1tsp salt and my husband said they were way too salty. So I am going to try unsalted butter instead. Also the recipe said 2 tsp of baking soda that would also make them taste salty. Can I cut down on the salt or the baking soda without making it too heavy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparks55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
good with choco chips, raisins, and extra nuts! ooh and crunchy peanut butter! also used spent grain flour. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious!!!! And not that peanut-buttery, thank goodness. I used dates instead of raisins, and my little guy thought they were chocolate chips!!! Also, 16 min. seemed enough baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I've made this several times with variations on the add ins and its been great each time! Filling, satisfying and healthy. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by d.anna.
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe! I didn't have raisins, but I had currants (I know.. crazy, right?), and then because I am a chocolate addict, I added a small handful of mini-chocolate chips. I did not change anything else. A-MA-ZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d.anna.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
These are so good! I added one cup of walnuts and one cup of chocolate chips to add more protein and a little bit of sweetness. I also used chunky peanut butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Excellent cookie! Will be great for morning snacks, much healthier alternative! I replaced 1/2 the butter with applesauce, reduced the brown sugar to 1 c, and replaced the raisins with craisins. Yummy! We will probably keep our freezer stocked with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States