Hearty Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by moonflower
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Really good enchiladas. I added some green chilies and mexican blend cheese for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I am a broke college student. I have never made enchiladas before. These were a hit! They were easy, affordable, and everyone I served loved them. Things I substituted include using a full, larger onion, black beans (instead of chili), refried beans, and green peppers. I used 1 can of enchilada sauce for the meat part, and used a half can for the topping. I also combined cheese sauce within the meat, and added shredded cheese over the top. Yum! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
These are awesome!!! Even my pickiest one cleaned his plate. I doubled the recipe and with 2/3 cup of meat mixture, I got 10 good ones out of them. I also doubled the cheese and had sour cream and black olives available for those that like to add on. Will definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
These enchiladas were absoulutely fabulous. The whole family devoured them, including our 3 year old!I used a red onion and added a can of black beans and I DID NOT fry the tortillas and it was amazing. Recipe as given made 8 hearty enchiladas. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
It's so good! I changed bits and pieces of it, adding cilantro into the beef mixture. It gives it the perfect taste! And instead of chili beans, I used black beans, personally I think they taste better. I don't think the hot oil part is neccassary, I heated the tortillas up via microwave for 30 seconds. It allows you to fold the tortillas the same way as if you used the hot oil. :) Other than that it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneyclaussen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I browned the ground beef, then added taco seasoning. Instead of chili beans I added a can of refried beans and then followed directions as below omitting the olives. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Turned out great! Used flour and corn tortillas. I did put taco seasoning in the meat mixture. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was great. I added a little taco seasoning to the beef mixture and instead of olives, we used jalapenos! We like spicy and hot!!! I also used corn tortilla's and I did cook them in a pan with a little oil and they were perfect. Had a bite to them instead of being so mushy like some flour torillas tend to get! It was great! Making it for work this week. Husband couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caraway, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
NEVER with flour tortillas! Use Corn tortillas (fried quickly in a little oil to seal, and then dipped in a good enchilada sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked Uncle Keith

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The only thing I did differently was use refried beans with jalapenos to give it a little kick. It was delicious...one of my husband's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States