Hearty Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! Instead of using beef broth, I used beef consumé and added some rosemary for extra flavor. The soup was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This soup is delicious! I added onion to it, but other that I followed the recipe exactly. I couldn't find quick cooking barley, so I cooked up 1 cup regular barley the day before. It worked great! My husband LOVED it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a really good recipe. However, I first used beef broth as the recipe calls for and felt it needed to be a little heartier. The next time I used half beef broth and half beef consomme. It was much better, I think. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I changed this around a little and it was just ok. I used canned mushrooms because that's what I had on hand, and instead of carrots I used a 10 oz. bag of frozen mixed veggies. I added about a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. I would make it again and add a can of diced or stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was pretty good. I ended up using just stew meat, which turned out fine. I followed the ingredient list to a tee, but I wish I added some onions and potatoes and make it a really hearty stew. Will definitely use this recipe again, it was boyfriend approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Photo by dawn
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Perfect exactly as the recipe is! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I did throw in an onion and celery - mostly because I had some languishing in the fridge. But, will make again as directed. Even picky 4-year-old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe, loved it. I did not use any flour, I simply put all ingredients in a large pot and let it slowly cook for almost three hours. I also added extra carrots, extra beef, and one onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Thanks for the great beef barley recipe, I too, added some onions and more carrots (my famiy loves carrots). This is super easy to make and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States