Hearty Beef Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Absolutely fantastic! Instead of using beef broth, I used beef consumé and added some rosemary for extra flavor. The soup was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This soup is delicious! I added onion to it, but other that I followed the recipe exactly. I couldn't find quick cooking barley, so I cooked up 1 cup regular barley the day before. It worked great! My husband LOVED it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a really good recipe. However, I first used beef broth as the recipe calls for and felt it needed to be a little heartier. The next time I used half beef broth and half beef consomme. It was much better, I think. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Swank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I changed this around a little and it was just ok. I used canned mushrooms because that's what I had on hand, and instead of carrots I used a 10 oz. bag of frozen mixed veggies. I added about a tablespoon of worcestershire sauce. I would make it again and add a can of diced or stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was pretty good. I ended up using just stew meat, which turned out fine. I followed the ingredient list to a tee, but I wish I added some onions and potatoes and make it a really hearty stew. Will definitely use this recipe again, it was boyfriend approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Photo by dawn
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Perfect exactly as the recipe is! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I did throw in an onion and celery - mostly because I had some languishing in the fridge. But, will make again as directed. Even picky 4-year-old ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe, loved it. I did not use any flour, I simply put all ingredients in a large pot and let it slowly cook for almost three hours. I also added extra carrots, extra beef, and one onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Thanks for the great beef barley recipe, I too, added some onions and more carrots (my famiy loves carrots). This is super easy to make and so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States