Hearty Beans with Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
very good and quick too, I need to finds beans that are not so sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
What a nice, easy Saturday night supper. We really enjoyed this. I made half the amount and used only baked beans. I can see why other reviewers said to add bacon because I think that would have added an extra dimension to the dish and taken it over the top. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Definitely needs bacon and perhaps some liquid hickory smoke. I added some Hickory Bacon Salt to my dish after it had cooked and that toned down the sweetness and gave it a nice smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRHarrington

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This has been a family favorite for decades. We don't include BBQ sauce or Worcerstershire, and we also add chopped, cooked bacon, mustard, white vinegar, kidney beans, and sometimes corn. Another nice variation is 1 bottle chili sauce instead of ketchup. I'll post the variation recipe called Calico Bean Bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Very good recipe. Made some adjustments due to what I had on hand. Used 2 16oz. cans of pinto beans and 1 8oz. bag of dried red beans and rice that normally simmers on stove top for 25-30 min. also used 1/4 to 1/3c. of leftover sauce from Barbecue Chicken Recipe instead of bottled barbecue sauce. Also added 4c. of water to the mix to compensate for the dried rice and beans. And cooked on high in a Crockpot for 4 hrs. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Love this recipe! I don't add the brown sugar or ketchup, we like extra bbq sauce! Sometimes I add turkey sausage as well to make it even meatier. So good by itself, over noodles or rice or with chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Easy and cheap to make and a big hit at potlucks. The only altering I do is add some chopped bacon and some garlic, but I put garlic in EVERYthing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mastark2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Douglas, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I used 2 lbs of ground beef because my husband loves things extra meaty, we have made this numerous times using different beans from the pantry each time. My picky 13 yo daughter loves it also! We serve it with tortilla chips or cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aury

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crosby, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I normally double the ingredients because everyone scoops it up so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Tasted exactly like beans and beef...no spices or anything. Not special. I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States