Hearty Barley Turkey Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I tried this, but added some broccoli and turnip. This has to be the easiest and best tasting recipe I've tried yet! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Great recipe - thank you. I roasted a boneless turkey breast with olive oil, rosemary and thyme and added to the soup to 'boost' the turkey content since we didn't have any leftovers and the carcass was a bit slim on meat. My hubby and 3 yr old loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I just finished making this soup and it turned out unbelievable. I will put this on my personal 5 star recipes that are 'tried and true' I made mine in the crock pot to get the best out of the carcass for 8 hours on low with the celery, onion, carrots and 2 chicken boullions. Drained the bones and let the broth rest in refrigerator overnight. Then I did the remainder of the recipe on the stove top over a low simmer for 1 hour and 20 minutes til barely was nice and tender. Hot french bread is a must with this tastey soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made this soup using the carcass of a smoked turkey. It was great! I also accidently put in 1 tsp. of dried thyme rather than 1 pinch of dried thyme. My family loves it. I'm making it again today with 1 tsp of dried thyme. Why mess with success!? - Kay Schroden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This soup was awesome! Only thing I added was a little extra salt. My husband actually said "wow!" And started telling his friends how good it was! Will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Besstastik
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was delicious! I did modify it a bit. I added parsnips to when making the stock. And when assembling the soup I went ahead and sautéed all the veggies (added parsnips here too, I love parsnips!) before adding them just to intensify the flavor. Then made a simple rue of 2tbs coconut oil 2tbs butter and a 1/4c flour. To thicken it and make it heartier and more stew like! Again it was AM-A-ZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Making this for the second time, this time with a turkey I smoked a couple days ago. Last time we had it was great. The entire family loved it. It is simple but has plenty of flavor. Added a little garlic powder and poultry seasoning to my taste. Can't believe there only 6 ratings so far for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brad Andrus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Wonderful, simple to follow recipe that you can adapt to your own preferences. I personally like to add 1 or 2 beef bouillon cubes to the stock for more richness in flavour and colour and peas near the end of cooking time. Can be spiced to your own taste. Will be keeping this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Zink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent! Added cumin for a more smoky flavor and even mix of carrot/parsnip. My 2 1/2 year old liked it so much that she wanted to drink some of the broth for her nighttime snack lol! Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Haas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States