Hearts of Palm Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
My husband LOVES this salad! I have made it per recipe & have added several additions (depending on what is on hand) such as; jarred button mushrooms, broccoli, artichoke hearts, grape tomatoes, cucumber etc. We like it best when it's loaded! Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Heart of palm seems so exotic and, well, sorta weird, yet everyone at my table devoured them. They are so so good, and I served them with this dressing on a bed of boston lettuce. Delicious and so classy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Wonderful! I subbed one can of hearts of palm for artichoke hearts and left out the bacon bits, but still enjoyed it very much! And it's a pantry salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
This tasted great, but I did reduce the amount of oil to 1/2 a cup. Next time I will reduce it again to 1/3 cup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is basically hearts of palm and Italian dressing mixed together, not that that's a bad thing. On the contrary, it's an extremely versatile recipe---throw in whatever veggies seem to fit. The champagne vinegar (although at the high cost I subbed half with another type of vinegar) takes it to another level and adds that extra flavor factor. I only used half the olive oil, and that was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
My family LOVED this! It was very easy to make and yes, better the next day. I did make a couple of changes, based on other reviews. I used 1/3 cup light olive oil and added broccolli and cucumbers because I had them in the fridge. This was delish!! Oh, and I used white wine instead of vinegar. We ate it all and now I need to make it again for a party next week! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! I made only one change, which was cutting back on the olive oil, otherwise I did add artichoke hearts and cucumbers to my salad. Great summer meal - everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Fabulous! Can't wait to have leftovers today! I hate olives so those were left out and subed with cherry tomatoe halves and chopped up artichoke hearts and salt and fresh ground pepper. I used white wine vinegar. I deleted bacon too, just didn't sound right in recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Excellent! Husband says its a "keeper". Cut the oil to 1/2. Added extras - broccoli, grape tomatoes, and button mushrooms. I omitted the bacon, but only because I forgot it. You do need to chill for at least 4 hours or overnight in order to get all the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Awesome as a side or as a meal unto itself! I'd never heard of champagne vinegar until I tried this recipe but it is perfect with this recipe! I love hearts of palm and am thrilled to have a way to prepare it besides just tossing it on to a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patuxent River, Maryland, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States