Hearts of Palm Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
very good, added artichoke hearts and took the advice on cutting down on the olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I found this to be a lovely salad, but I have to agree with everyone who stated there is too much dressing and too much oil. I scaled the recipe down--I only had one jar of hearts of palm, and a smaller one at that--so I only used one packet of dressing and I followed the directions on the packet for less oil (1/4 c oil, 1/4 c water) but left out the water. Even leaving out the water and with the addition of some tomatoes and a large cucumber to this salad, there is too much dressing. The amount of oil was fine in the dressing itself, but I'd say half the amount of dressing would be fine and would still allow the flavors to meld. I certainly like the salad and will probably make it again, but I'll definitely cut back on the dressing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Check the proportions - by following the recipe exactly, I ended up with WAY too much oil, which ruined the taste of the dressing. I poured off about a third of a cup but the salad was still drowning. Even with a reduction in dressing and the addition of some red onion, the salad was bland and uninteresting. Also, this is expensive - $15 for the three cans of hearts of palm; way too much for a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I felt like this was just altogether too oily and salty. I am interested in trying another recipe with hearts of palm, because I think it is an interesting ingrediant with potential. But, I probably won't be trying this recipe again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Excellent! Husband says its a "keeper". Cut the oil to 1/2. Added extras - broccoli, grape tomatoes, and button mushrooms. I omitted the bacon, but only because I forgot it. You do need to chill for at least 4 hours or overnight in order to get all the flavors to meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Fabulous! Can't wait to have leftovers today! I hate olives so those were left out and subed with cherry tomatoe halves and chopped up artichoke hearts and salt and fresh ground pepper. I used white wine vinegar. I deleted bacon too, just didn't sound right in recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was good. I subbed rice vinegar because I didn't have the white wine vinegar on hand, and added sliced jalapeno olives (from Trader Joe's). I think it was a bit heavy from the oil and dressing, so next time I would decrease the amount of both. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Good! I cut way back on the oil (I actually ended up mixing the dressing, using white wine vinegar, pretty much according to the package directions - and then didn't use nearly all of it). I added some chopped sundried tomatoes and fresh parsley. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! I made only one change, which was cutting back on the olive oil, otherwise I did add artichoke hearts and cucumbers to my salad. Great summer meal - everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
My family LOVED this! It was very easy to make and yes, better the next day. I did make a couple of changes, based on other reviews. I used 1/3 cup light olive oil and added broccolli and cucumbers because I had them in the fridge. This was delish!! Oh, and I used white wine instead of vinegar. We ate it all and now I need to make it again for a party next week! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIFERYUNG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States