Hearts of Palm Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Move over spinach and artichoke dips - this recipe blows all of you away! I've made this recipes at least 16 times now for company, and everytime it disappears. My favorite part is not telling anyone what the key ingredient is and making them guess. We usally eat it with flavored Triscuts. And the best part: low fat mayo and sour cream work just fine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This dip definitely moved to the top of my appetizer list! The only modification I made was to replace the green onions with minced shallots. It made for a creamier consistency. And the suggestion to serve it with water cracker is a GREAT idea, you do not want to use salty crackers with this dip otherwise it is too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Serrano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I like to add a clove of minced garlic and puree the whole thing in my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
I made this for company & it was a huge success. I asked people to guess what was in it and nobody could. I added a clove of minced garlic (per the suggestion of another reviewer) & only used a 1/4 cup of scallions as my husband isn't a big onion fan. Also I used reduced fat mozzarella & sour cream as well as mayo made from canola oil. The only other comment I have is that it tasted salty to me. As I'd never used hearts of palm before, this may just be the taste of the ingredient. Anyway my guests still scarfed it up & one asked for the recipe, which is always a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
This dip is great! I like the hearts of palm better than artichokes in this same style of dip. I used vegenaise instead of mayo with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Rather mild, bland, only ok to my taste, but people who like mayo & cheese-based dips will like or love it. This was similar in texture to artichoke heart dips. I halved a batch so I could taste it as written, & then with half the mayo. I preferred it with less mayo. I thought it needed more hearts of palm, & a little something else, maybe 1 clove garlic, or a pinch of red chile pepper. I'll eventually make this again, but only with changes to suit my taste. ~~ I much prefer "palmittos" plain on salads, or in a shrimp empanada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've never had hearts of palm before, but I thought I'd try this recipe out anyway. It turned out so good! I too added a bit of minced garlic, and this dip was perfect! I'll be making this one again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Delish! I added roasted red peppers out of the jar. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleyBrul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Tastes great with triscuits! I added two cloves of minced garlic per other reviewers. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I found it a little salty, but hearts of palm are salty. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I'm not a big fan of hearts of palm, but this dish was a hit during the holidays. Everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpaigel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States