Hearts of Palm and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Made this salad for hubby because he loves hearts of palm. Knowing him, I omitted the sugar altogether because he dislikes sweet dressing. The blend of flavours along with the tweaked dressing was fantastic. I wouldn't hesitate to make this salad for company. The added crunch of the almonds was my favourite part and I think I would try adding bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made as written except that I added crumbled bacon to the top for my meat loving husband. I do wish I would have read the reviews beforehand for I too found the dressing to be entirely too sweet and will cut the sugar in half next time. Other than that, this was a winner all the way and I very much enjoyed the addition of mustard powder and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I made a 1/2 recipe and went a little light on the spinach, I used about 1/2 the dressing, we like it light. I also only used 1/2 the amount of sugar like other reviewers suggested which was perfect. I topped the salad with fresh bacon bits and I sauteed the mushrooms in a little bacon grease and white wine and threw them on top warm just before serving, it made kind of a wilted spinach salad. We just don't care much for raw mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Salad tasted good, but not great. The dressing was way to much for me -- I halved the sugar but left the recipe the same otherwise. I just left the dressing on the side and dipped my fork tongs in before each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Dressing is phenomenal. Recipe is 5 stars as is, which is rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This salad is very good for something a little different. I agree that the dressing is too sweet, so you may want to half the sugar then add more if necessary. I also increased the oil and vinegar slightly to make it a little thinner. I used regular tomatoes and sunflower seeds because I didn't have almonds. Very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I loved all the ingredients, but thought the dressing was not right at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Great salad! The hearts of palms gave a nice flavor to this salad. I omitted the cherry tomatoes and added an envelope of splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
The flavors in the salad are great, I reduced the sugar (the ketchup already has some) and I cut the total amount of dressing in half and it was still a little too much for me. The dressing is good, but I like to be able to taste the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Hammond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very good salad!!! I add a diced purple onion as well! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States