Hearts and Gizzards (Giblets) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I'm the type who has for years thrown away the giblets ( or cooked them for my pets), as my mother did before me. I wanted to find a recipe for something that could be done with these giblets. This recipe makes a dish that even a person who doesn't like giblets can enjoy, but it still is giblets. My husband loved it, I found it okay. One person mentioned there was too much flour, but you don't use all the flour, you just drench the pieces in the flour and then fry them in the oil. I didn't just wipe my pan with the oil, I actually put a little oil in the pan as well as 2 spoonsful of turkey oil. Afterward, you add the water and pressure cook it. The water and flour combine and make an okay gravy. If you like giblets try this recipe, as for me I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Didn't like this one. I followed the recipe, and ruined my pressure cooker. I've got it soaking, but don't know if I'll be able to get the burnt mess out. I only cooked them for 30 min, if I had gone 35 or more, the gizzards wouldn't have been salvagable, but they were still very mushy. I'll go back to boiling gizzards and fying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Awesome. Gizzards have always been a guilty pleasure. When we make a whole roast, we put the giblets in the bottom of the rack and braze them. In this recipe, the gizzards are totally melted. I did use chicken stock intend of water. I think I might use some poultry spice or sage next time to add a bit more zing, but this was very, very good! Served with brown rice and lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
It's like the most tender fillet mignon!! I increased the water to 1 cup, and the gizzards were incredibly tender. By increasing the water you create a better gravy with the gizzards. This recipe is not like a plate of deep fried gizzards, the gravy smothers the gizzards, so serving this over rice, or mashed potatoes is the way to go. I also added some Cajun seasoning to the flour, and server braised brousel sprouts on the side! I highly recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My family loves this recipe....really the only thing i make in my pressure cooker...wonderful over rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
The use of the pressure cooker is the key. I pulled mine out of storage for this recipe, and the meat came out so tender and delicious. This might sound strange, but I served this with macaroni and cheese, and it was a big hit. Actually mixed the mac & cheese together with the hearts and gizzards -- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I think the proportions are wrong. Not enough oil, not enough water, or too much flour. I added full cup of water, and it still got burned. Update: I made it again in a new pressure cooker. Increased water to 2 cups, but I had about 1.30lb of giblets. Added some butter and couple spoons of sour cream. This time I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Oh my was this good. I got more than I expected. Not only did I get highly flavorful results, I discovered it makes its own gravy. The only problem I had was letting the pressure cooker cook too long - 35 minutes would have been better than 45. I will use this recipe for making beef liver too. I most certainly will be eating chicken gizzards more often. Thank you BJALLEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
First off ya have to like gizzards. I do. This is good. My son home from college ate half of it watching football. A very good halftime snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Mikey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Everyone needs to check their reviews. Mine disappear or things are reviewed I did not even make. I said in this review that this recipe is mush. Hearts and Gizzards should be chewy. This was a waste of time. Disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

How to Make Caramel Chicken

Try Chef John’s version of a wildly popular Vietnamese dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States