Heart-Shaped Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were beautiful and delicious. I used more filling and didn't measure how much softened butter I spread over the dough. I folded the roll, seam to seam lengthwise and used a sharp thin knife to cut through the layers and they just fell away in the shape of a heart. Had a lovely rise! Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a very lovely cake, I made it once but couldn't figure out the shaping, I sort of winged it and then when it was in the oven it dawned on me how to do it the right way. I made it a second time a few days later and left out the nuts. I found that I prefered it without nuts. I used my Kitchen Aid to mix it and found that I needed about a cup and half of additional flour both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 2/5/11. Despite my multiple errors this came out wonderfully. I had to add about an additional cup or cup and a half of flour to make a workable dough, then what I thought was a package of walnuts was actually sliced almonds, so I toasted them and chopped them up fine and used them. Then there was the inability on my part, to comprehend the shaping directions. I finally figured them out and shaped one heart and realized I don't have 2 pans large enough for 2 cakes this size, so I just made a crescent of the second cake and baked that on my pizza pan. As I slid the first cake in the oven I realized I hadn't brushed the butter on before adding the filling. In spite of all that they came out and taste wonderful. I will probably even make them again, although not two at the same time. Thanks, Norma this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made this for Recipe Group, and had fun doing it! I have to say that the shaping/cutting part had me quite confused, but thanks to sassy, she explained it to where I 'got' it, though mine turned out more like a 'Y' than a heart, lol. I am very dough-making lazy, so I just let the bread machine do all the mixing for me, which worked out wonderfully. Another issue I had though, but maybe it was because I used a bead machine or...??? was that I had to add about another 1-2/3 cups more flour to get it to a consistancy where it was more like a dough and less like a runny mess. Other than that the dough was really nice to work with, and rolled out beautifully. It seemed to me that the filling would not be enough for two of these, so I just made 1-1/2 the filling, and that was perfect, IMO. All in all a nice easy recipe. I may try this sometime for cinnamon rolls as well! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
FABULOUS coffee cake! The directions were confusing to read but easy to understand as I made it. I was going to pass on making it until sassyoldlady explained and offered her help. I would have really missed out on a great tasting recipe, so thank you Sassy! My intentions were to make it today but I stayed up and made it late last night. What a wonderful treat to have with our coffee this morning. I just warmed it 15 seconds in the microwave. I used bread machine yeast as it was all I had. I also added 1/2 cup raisins which I plumped first and mixed with 1/4 cup of brown sugar. Be sure to chop the walnuts fine. I almost didn't. Once I tasted it, I saw how important that was to spreading the flavor. I put the icing in a squeeze bottle to apply. Thank you Norma Hammond for sharing your recipe and giving us such a FABULOUS coffee treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. There was a lot of discussion as to how to do the shaping/cutting part. I thought I had it figured out, until I actually got to that part. I read it as laying on the baking sheet, making a U shape with the sides touching and the seams up(for whatever reason). Then if you cut the top, it cuts through it. Hmmm? So I did that anyway, then decided to cut through the insides of the U and folded it back. Didn't look quite right still. Baked it anyway and kept reading the directions. Aha! Now I get it. Place the roll on the sheet with the seam up. Now grabbing one end, bring it up and back toward you so the one end lays on TOP of the other. Which then places the seams on the inside. Now when you cut through it it cuts through correctly, allowing you to spread it out. Now..to the making and eating part. I am not a yeast maker/baker. It was easy, even though took forever to rise in my cold house(put in oven with the oven light on as shortcut), it rolled out great(one of my biggest problems with dough). I made the second roll as rolls. Good taste, but needed more, lots more cinnamon and sugar. I didn't use the nuts. I would have liked a little more icing, but the amount was fine if you make both hearts and drizzle. Good recipe and thanks Norma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
this was a very good cake, I made one roll with nuts and one with raisins. The dough is easy to work with and very silky, and the instructions to turn it into a heart are wonderful. When you cut into the roll from folded end to open end, it opens flat and creates a heart. It was a very nice change from cinnamon buns that my family is used to I will make it again through the year and cut up as cinnamon buns. The icing makes more than I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Made this for recipe group today. the directions on how to shape left me confused. The taste of the cake however is wonderful! I made the dough in the bread machine and it rose so much it lifted the cover off. I shaped the dough and cut best I could and this is the shape it came out, a sad heart. it rose again for 1 hr before baking and it was huge. I will make this again but not in the heart shape. and since I have 2 pieces of dough I will make 2 coffee cakes. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States