Heart Attack Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Love making the eggs this way, great scrambled or fried! YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Oh, it's delicious. My daddy made them this way all the time, and died of a heart attack at 64. I'm 49, and already on Crestor, so I don't eat bacon and eggs fried in the grease much, but yeah, it does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lawhon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Hooray for bacon grease!! This is the ONLY way that my family ever ate 'em, and we're a long-lived bunch too! As other reviewers have noted, this is THE best-tasting way to cook 'em. As to heart attacks- ya know, we (as a culture) didn't really have much of a problem with cholesterol or heart disease, not to mention the proliferation of cancers, until after the introduction of hydrogenated fats, in the form of shortenings and margarines. We use bacon grease, and real butter, at my house, and neither I, nor my kids, are anywhere near "fat" or "unhealthy", and my grandparents lived well into their 80's and 90's, eating these fats....so we say, bring on the bacon, and make that piecrust with LARD! YAY, NATURAL FATS!!! ;o) Oh, and if you have grease left over after the eggs, it can be really tasty to throw some hashbrowns in the pan, when the eggs are done.... :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Is there any other way to eat an egg? It doesn't get any better than this! Life is short, enjoy it once in awhile. Great way to fry eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the best way to cook a Sunday morning breakfast, along with my paprika-onion-garlic home fries done in the remaining bacon fat. Mmm-Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TommyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My mother taught me to cook them this way many years ago. Another way is to baste the eggs with the grease instead of turning the egg. That usually makes the yolk more runny so you can mop up the yolk with white bread toasted and buttered. Counteract the cholesterol with a half of grapefruit sectioned and sugared. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The only way to fry eggs, next time instead of flipping the eggs try basting with the hot bacon fat to desiered doneness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I like to cook the eggs this way at the campground. I also fry the toast in the bacon grease. There is usually just enough to do the toast. Yum, growing up we never had eggs any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Absolutely the best. I do this on the grill outside. I put my bacon on a cookie sheet on the grill. Drain when crisp on a papertowel. Then add eggs one at a time on the cookie sheet until done. Only problem....you get company when they start smelling the wonderful aroma. Breakfast on the grill in northern Minnesota is not a very long season, so we do it on sunny Sunday mornings and the neighbors start coming over...fun way to start the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Proctor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I always cook my eggs this way. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Beechgrove, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States