Heart Attack Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
What a way to go! This is the way my mother and grandmother always fried eggs when I was growing up except they served them sunny-side-up or over-light. No firm eggs for them or me. That is the way I still prefer them. You could have only a mild heart attack if you used half olive or canola oil with the bacon fat. Butter with bacon fat is pretty tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Like I told my Doctor, I can eat oatmeal every day and live a dull boring life to 100 or eat something like this and live only 60 to 70 years. Bring on the Bacon Grease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I was raised with this breakfast. My father had bacon and eggs, I believe, every day. I don't allow myself to have these more than a couple times a month for obvious health issues. Like another review said, you can baste them. Carefully baste the white until completely done, then baste sll over until the yolk is done to your liking. This way you don't have undercooked egg whites but your eggs are not sunny-side up either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Love making the eggs this way, great scrambled or fried! YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Yates

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Oh, it's delicious. My daddy made them this way all the time, and died of a heart attack at 64. I'm 49, and already on Crestor, so I don't eat bacon and eggs fried in the grease much, but yeah, it does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Lawhon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Hooray for bacon grease!! This is the ONLY way that my family ever ate 'em, and we're a long-lived bunch too! As other reviewers have noted, this is THE best-tasting way to cook 'em. As to heart attacks- ya know, we (as a culture) didn't really have much of a problem with cholesterol or heart disease, not to mention the proliferation of cancers, until after the introduction of hydrogenated fats, in the form of shortenings and margarines. We use bacon grease, and real butter, at my house, and neither I, nor my kids, are anywhere near "fat" or "unhealthy", and my grandparents lived well into their 80's and 90's, eating these fats....so we say, bring on the bacon, and make that piecrust with LARD! YAY, NATURAL FATS!!! ;o) Oh, and if you have grease left over after the eggs, it can be really tasty to throw some hashbrowns in the pan, when the eggs are done.... :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Is there any other way to eat an egg? It doesn't get any better than this! Life is short, enjoy it once in awhile. Great way to fry eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is the best way to cook a Sunday morning breakfast, along with my paprika-onion-garlic home fries done in the remaining bacon fat. Mmm-Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TommyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
My mother taught me to cook them this way many years ago. Another way is to baste the eggs with the grease instead of turning the egg. That usually makes the yolk more runny so you can mop up the yolk with white bread toasted and buttered. Counteract the cholesterol with a half of grapefruit sectioned and sugared. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The only way to fry eggs, next time instead of flipping the eggs try basting with the hot bacon fat to desiered doneness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States