Heart Attack Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My grandparents taught me this, although I feel the best way is to baste the eggs with the bacon grease instead of turning over. The best tasting eggs around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Bullard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Puente, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Well, you only live once...that being said I decided since I was frying bacon anyway I'd give this a try. I only used a bit of bacon grease to fry the eggs as I didn't want them necessarily "floating" in grease. Overall they were very good. Not, something I'd do on a regular basis because I'm not looking to have a "heart attack" or cause my husband to have one either. And while I was on a bacon grease kick I decided to go ahead and pair this with "Dad's Kentucky Home Fries" from this site. I think the only healthy on our plates was the whole grain toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Not the healthiest but very yummy. Isn't this how almost everyone had breakfast growing up with a side of fried potatoes? I still like this every now and then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Absolutely delicious! My dad has cooked his eggs this way for 60 years. He has one every morning - fries the bacon and toasts his bread, cooks the eggs in the grease and butters his toast, slaps the eggs, bacon and a slice of American cheese between the 2 pieces of toast and heads for his recliner! Good stuff, but then again, I don't turn mine black with pepper! lol - Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I planned for a few days to make this, and frankly, I was nervous. But it wasn't really overwhelmingly greasy and heavy like I thought it might be. Fairly simple, but pretty good. I don't think I'd ever even fried eggs before, let alone in bacon fat. I used a pretty good quality bacon, so the results were pretty tasty. This is a good-sized, but not huge, breakfast for one person, and I just might make it again, once in a while. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
being from the south I thought this was the way you were supposed to fry eggs. Glad to know there is a recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Yummmm - eggs fried in bacon fat, bacon & homemade bread with butter. Reminds me of Sunday mornings when I was a kid. Comfort food - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I just find it strange that this recipe was even posted! It is the only way I have ever eaten fried eggs. i still do and every restaurant I have eaten in cooks them this way. I always cook them in bacon grease and I also add it to my baked bean recipe along with bacon. I do not have a problem with cholesterol and never have and I am 62. I also use only real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
What a way to go! This is the way my mother and grandmother always fried eggs when I was growing up except they served them sunny-side-up or over-light. No firm eggs for them or me. That is the way I still prefer them. You could have only a mild heart attack if you used half olive or canola oil with the bacon fat. Butter with bacon fat is pretty tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States