Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
We really liked this recipe! I did substitute a few items and used green salsa Verde with 1/4 c. fresh chopped cilantro in place of the salsa. We had a side of Quinoa and roasted asparagus and it was a DANDY meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by webervn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
It was really good. I wish I would have doubled the rub and made twice as much. After spreading the rub on my steroid enhanced chicken breasts I saw that there was nowhere near enough. I compensated for my lack of rub by sprinkling on some chili powder. Be sure to use a flavorful salsa (Herdez medium slasa is what I used) this was quick and easy and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this just as written with a quick salsa that I made myself. It was wonderful with melted cheese and some sour cream on top. My husband said to put it into rotation so that means it's a good one. The only thing I would change, and this was just if you're using fresh salsa, is to cook the salsa a bit before pouring it on the chicken and baking it. Mine tasted a little TOO fresh. I was fine with it, but my husband thought the salsa needed to be cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Definite winner! Make sure you use a flavorful salsa, that will make or break this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Simple, quick, and delicious! I needed something easy for a weeknight meal and this was a great way to enjoy Mexican without all the guilt! I sprinkled both sides of the chicken with the garlic powder and cumin plus a little chili powder. Since there's no need to brown the chicken first and opting out of the oil cuts back on the fat I sprayed an 8x8 baking dish with Pam and put the chicken topped with a 16 oz. jar of salsa in the oven and baked 350 for 45 minutes. The last 5 minutes I grated low fat Colby Jack cheese over top to melt. To make the presentation a little better to serve, I topped it with chopped green onion and sliced black olives. This was wonderful served with fat free plain greek yogurt (instead of sour cream),brown rice, and black beans. This has to be one of the easiest low fat meals ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made a similar tasty and easier recipe. Mix 3/4 cup salsa ( what ever heat you like) 3 tbsp of brown sugar and 1 tbsp of Dijon mustard. Pour over the chicken and bake for 45 min at 375 or 400. Sauce is awesome over rice or couscous . No need to sauté or add oil. Chicken is ALWAYS juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annwiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I wanted to make a Mexican chicken bake that wasn't hard to make or full of cans of soup. This was great, and my family loved it! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
very good and very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My family and I love this!!! I added Mexican rotel and added a little chili powder. It was really good!! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States