Healthy Green Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Yes it's the Mean Green Juice from Fat Sick & Nearly Dead. It's good in a good-for-you but not horrible tasting kind of way. I cut down to 3 stalks of celery, add a carrot and a couple sprigs of fresh parsley, then increase the lemon to one full, without the peel, and I like it better for my taste. Funny part of the recipe is that if you are using a slow juicer, 10 mins prep and ready in 10 mins is a total joke. If I count from start of prep to end of clean-up and putting away the machine I've never been able to do it in under an hour. It sounds crazy but I check the clock and time just flies, and I'm not a slow poke either. It's a total pain in the butt, but I am sure this same recipe made in a blender would be yucky. I do love mixing smoothies into my routine, alternating with juicing, for the fiber, but the smoothies I make are semi frozen and sweetened with banana, pineapple, mango etc so they are more like a treat even though I can sneak some kale or other leafy greens into them. So those reviewers that tried this exact recipe in a blender, yeah I could imagine you'd never want to make it again. But using a juicer, it's really not that bad. The key is the lemon which oddly enough makes it sort of sweeter, and don't overdo it on the celery or the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.H. Syd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I didn't have kale so I did away with it and added double the lemon so it wouldn't taste too green. It was delicious! Very refreshing! Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Add 1/2 cup parsley, use 2 c kale and half the celery,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
The perfect juice for juicers! Clean and fresh tasting and it gives you a boost of energy while actually being quite filling first thing in the morning. I did cut the lemon in half and it still comes through without having the overly lemon feel on my mouth and I probably doubled the ginger but I like ginger and when your breakfast is a bunch of raw produced squeezed to a pulp, if you like something in it then you deserve extra of it! :) This is my go to juice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great way to get your kick in the middle of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Waite

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Tasted great! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made a half recipe leaving out the ginger. The celery taste was a little too overwhelming for me so I added fruit (have tried extra apples, grapes, and oranges) to sweeten. Overall, quality drink! Might try to add ice or be sure to refrigerate so it's super cold when drinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is the first juice recipe I used after watching that Fat Sick and Nearly dead documentary. It was fantastic, you can experiment and add more fruit to sweeten it, but the fact that I went back for a second glass right away was rather surprising to me even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Great introduction to green juice! After making this, I have experimented with adding kale to many of my other juice recipes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Green Juice

This healthy juice features kale, cucumber, apples, ginger, and lemon.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States