Healthy Creamy Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I made this as written, but without the nutritional yeast because I did not have any on hand. I liked it, but my kids wouldn't touch it (not sure why, they had no idea it was cauliflower!) and my husband said it was just ok. The flavor and texture are light, although not quite mac & cheese-like. I don't think it was the recipe writer's intention to "hide" the vegetables, and if that is what you are looking for, I don't think this recipe will help you do that. The flavor and texture of the sauce is not close enough. However, if you like cauliflower and are looking for a lighter and healthier version of the classic recipe, this is a good one to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by Brittany
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly, I just added a little sprinkle of extra cheese, and had high hopes. It was bland and I did not care for the yogurt. Removing it from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, but found I needed a whole 16 oz box of pasta, instead of the 8 oz. It has become a regular in my kitchen. Kids prefer it to the traditional mac n cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I was skeptical when I had to blend the cauliflower, but it turned out perfectly proportioned and delicious. I also added chicken to the sauce for protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Kaminski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious! Did without mustard and made with gluten free pasta. Boyfriend who hates veggies had no idea there was cauliflower in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I was a little skeptical about this dish, especially since it was the first time using nutritional yeast. It was amazingly delicious and is now permanently in my routine recipe stash. I used a large clove of garlic, rather than the powder and italian bread crumbs since that's all I had. Switched out the reduced-fat for some sharp cheddar and asiago, plus added a yellow onion. Thanks for yummy gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I would have rated it a 4, because once I added some garlic salt, it was great, but my wife would have rated it a 1 or 2, because she said she could taste the cauliflower, and hated it. So...I rated it in the middle :) I didn't put the yeast flakes, but left everything else as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I made some minor changes; light sour cream instead of Greek yogurt, no yeast flakes and no nutmeg. This recipe was easy and delish! I don't even like cauliflower and my daughter knew what was in it and ate it all up. Beats the heaviness of my tasty but cheese heavy Mac and cheese. Will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yesnomaybeso7
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was great and no one could tell that there was cauliflower in it. Used some Mexican cheese and no yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Delicious. I prefer this to regular mac and cheese which seems bland in comparison to this. I mashed only half of the cauliflower and left the rest in small florets. First time using the nutritional yeast, it was a good discovery. Served with sweet hot mustard chicken thighs. A good pairing. Will try it with meat loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States