Healthy Coconut Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I love the coconut and oatmeal combo. I switched it up a bit by substituting 2/3 water, 1/3 Trader Joe's light coconut milk for the soy milk. I also added 1/2 cup fat free powedered milk. I hate to drink powdered milk but it adds creaminess if you cook with it. I also find that the oatmeal is creamier if you add the oats to the cold liquid(s) and then bring things to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Yummy. Made with soy milk. Only had raisins, almond slivers and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made with coconut milk 'cause I didn't have soy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This is a really easy and versatile recipe. I accidentally used molasses instead of maple syrup (I know, I don't know what I was thinking) but it was still good. My kids especially loved it with the tartness of the greek vanilla yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENBERRYBROWN
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Really Delicious! Different enough from plain oatmeal to feel like you are eating something special. I thought it was a bit on the sweet side for breakfast. Next time I might try unsweetened coconut. I didn't have any walnuts, so topped mine with sliced almonds. I also used water instead of milk, but missed the creaminess of the milk so next time I should definitely follow the recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Will definitely make this one but try it with coconut milk (unsweetened in the carton like regular milk). We make all of our oatmeal and most of our rice with it...so, so yummy! Although I haven't tried it yet, I can taste it already so will give it four stars! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chezleslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Too sweet for me. Next time I'll reduce the syrup. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Decker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
It tastes good. But I'm not so sure how "healthy" it is... People have this concept that unless its packed with fats or artificial this or that, a dish is healthy. Make no mistake - this is a dessert. There's fiber in the bran, but aside from a couple of walnuts - its all carbs. Maple syrup, raisins, cranberries, sweetened flaked coconut, and honey is optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Really liked this oatmeal. I used agave nectar instead of the maple syrup and I tried it the first time with the yogurt, but didn't like it. Don't think it needs the yogurt or extra honey. My one year old loved it too, minus the walnuts:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States