Healthy Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These were easy and healthy. Good quick energy cookies. BUT, they don't keep well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This was terrific! I also read many reviews before baking. I also made changes. I did not have enough oatmeal on hand so I used 1 cup of oatmeal plus 1 cup of almond flour. I also added some walnuts, raisins, an egg, one teaspoon of cinnamon and a quarter teaspoon of ginger. I used parchment paper. I forgot to press them down, so they were little lumps. But they were DELICIOUS little lumps!!! I'm hoping they will last in the mail to my kids. I hope this is listed in a gluten free recipe catalog somewhere! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I subbed out the oil for applesauce. Occasionally hubby uses the store bought lil cups of applesauce, and one of them is sufficient for this recipe. I needed a hit of chocolate though, so coated the bottom of the cookies with 72% cacao dark chocolate for the health benefits. A definite keeper :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
If i ever make these again (though it's not likely), i will definitely reduce the amount of oil, maybe substitute it like some suggested. They tasted almost fine before baking... Not so good after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
More cake like than cookie. Nice and sweet without added sugar. My three year old loves them. They make a good breakfast treat. I followed other reviews and used applesauce instead of oil. I also pressed the cookies into the shape I wanted before baking as suggested since they will not rise or spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Delicious! I used 1/2 cup raisins and a 1/2 cup walnuts in place of the dates. I also substituted applesauce for the oil. I then added some flax, cinnamon, nutmeg, and dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I added 1 cup of peanut butter and 1 cup of chopped pecans. I put them in muffin tins instead of cookies, and used oat bran instead of rolled oats because I had that on hand. Delicious, made them for church yesterday, already have calls asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brickhouse
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used dried apricots because I didn't have dates and spiced rum instead of vanilla. I also added about 1 cup pumpkin, 2 T raw honey, 2 T flax seed, 1/2 t cinnamon and fresh grated nutmeg. I cut the oil in half because I added pumpkin. I am excited to try different fruits, nuts and chocolate next time and use applesauce for the oil. Great easy and healthy recipe and fun to modify! They came out great. I love that there is no salt in the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brickhouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great health cookie. My kids even liked them with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These are great as is... I've also tried it with pureed frozen mango and strawberries (was out of banana) and dried mixed fruit - and they turned out great as well!! Next time I will try not using the oil and use apple sauce instead as others have suggested to make it even healthier..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 811) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States