Healthy Banana Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
More cake like than cookie. Nice and sweet without added sugar. My three year old loves them. They make a good breakfast treat. I followed other reviews and used applesauce instead of oil. I also pressed the cookies into the shape I wanted before baking as suggested since they will not rise or spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Delicious! I used 1/2 cup raisins and a 1/2 cup walnuts in place of the dates. I also substituted applesauce for the oil. I then added some flax, cinnamon, nutmeg, and dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I added 1 cup of peanut butter and 1 cup of chopped pecans. I put them in muffin tins instead of cookies, and used oat bran instead of rolled oats because I had that on hand. Delicious, made them for church yesterday, already have calls asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brickhouse
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I used dried apricots because I didn't have dates and spiced rum instead of vanilla. I also added about 1 cup pumpkin, 2 T raw honey, 2 T flax seed, 1/2 t cinnamon and fresh grated nutmeg. I cut the oil in half because I added pumpkin. I am excited to try different fruits, nuts and chocolate next time and use applesauce for the oil. Great easy and healthy recipe and fun to modify! They came out great. I love that there is no salt in the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brickhouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great health cookie. My kids even liked them with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These are great as is... I've also tried it with pureed frozen mango and strawberries (was out of banana) and dried mixed fruit - and they turned out great as well!! Next time I will try not using the oil and use apple sauce instead as others have suggested to make it even healthier..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I had to make a lot of alterations the first time I made this. Here they are: used applesauce instead of oil, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and nutmeg, 1/4 cup of coconut flakes, 1 small diced apple, two handfuls of roasted peanuts, 1/2 cup of raisins, 1/4 cup of honey, 3 cups of oats, 2 ripe bananas, and 1 T of milk. I feel like I created a whole new recipe that's why I'm giving it 3 stars. To me it just tasted like granola and not much like a cookie. The consistency was a a tad bit rubbery. The batter was delicious and the cookie was okay. Be aware that the cookies are impossible to shape into balls and they also fall apart. It would be better if you put them in a pan and made granola bars. I don't think I'll be making these in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I think these were great, but took off one star because they could use a little more spice. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a tad of ginger. Also added raisins, wheat germ, flax seed, and chopped walnuts. And to make it healthier, as other reviewers added, use applesauce instead of oil--worked perfectly. Overall they are a great tasting cookie and a really healthy alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
These cookies are awesome! I am on a no flour-no sugar diet and these are a great treat. My brother-in-law is diabetic and loved these healthy cookies. It is hard to find cooky recipes without aspartame or other artificial sweeteners. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I did not care for this recipe, and neither did anyone else in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States